Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
It was good. I was getting sick of all the reviewers talking about it needing bacon or sausage grease!! YUCK! Some of us don't eat meat (pork, specifically, for me) and I was looking for a recipe that I could still get my gravy for biscuits. The only issue I had was not listening to others and adding the milk too fast. I had little flour balls, but it didn't affect the flavor any. Anyway, good first try, would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very good basic country gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mapleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: La Pine, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Made this for breakfast with biscuits and it was DELISH! When I test-tasted it right out of the pan I wasn't sure, but once it was on top of the biscuits holy cow it was great'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I have tried this and it so good! Janine thanks for the tip about the bacon, it really helped. This is a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Made this one night for dinner, so happy I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Really good but I sub butter for the veggie oil as others have mentioned. Fabulous on biscuits. Make this right before serving so it isn't a gloppy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
had to tweek it a bit but I cut it in half and added a little chicken bouillon. But if you are a good cook like me it is a great starter. I made it yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandra

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Great Recipe! Perfect for everything from country fried pork chops to biscuits and gravy. Up until my divorce I used one recipe that has been in the family for over 100 years. However, I lost all my recipes in the divorce. I have tried many since, repeating them to try and figure out why they tasted like flour or were too, salty, or lumpy. Again, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
When I was little my mom would cook fresh carrots and add this white grave to them. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I was not happy with this recipe at all. It was so very bland. No matter how much seasoning I added, it didn't change. It was essentially liquid flour. Definitely never using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkhaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States