Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Great Recipe! Perfect for everything from country fried pork chops to biscuits and gravy. Up until my divorce I used one recipe that has been in the family for over 100 years. However, I lost all my recipes in the divorce. I have tried many since, repeating them to try and figure out why they tasted like flour or were too, salty, or lumpy. Again, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
When I was little my mom would cook fresh carrots and add this white grave to them. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I was not happy with this recipe at all. It was so very bland. No matter how much seasoning I added, it didn't change. It was essentially liquid flour. Definitely never using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkhaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Like other reviewers said...you really need to use sausage or bacon drippings instead of vegetable oil. If you have neither, use butter! I also used TONS more salt and pepper than called for in the recipe, otherwise it is just too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
its very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking4nine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This was an excellent basic country gravy recipe that I used with country fried steak. It makes a lot so I had some left over to put over biscuits later too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I just made this not happy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I just made this for the first time, it turned out nice, however I still get a flour-y consistency and slight taste though I cooked the rue until brown(approx. 11 minutes on medium heat). It was also extremely bland considering I used the said amount of salt and pepper. I did have to add 2 beef bullion cubes for more flavor. I mixed in some ground venison and bacon. I did use butter and bacon rendering instead of oil. Over-all it's a great recipe that I plan on using and playing with until it suits our taste. Great starter gravy!! I did want to add to say, that I really like this recipe because it gives you room to add ingredients and play with, without ruining the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Voymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wixom, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I have made lots of gravy in my 55 years , and I thought this was a great recipe , I followed the direction (I always have made my gravy from memory ) it was perfect smooth, white, silky , and very tasty I did add extra pepper and salt ... over all I give it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Delicious! This was the first one I read, it seemed simple and it was and it was a big hit. Definitely the only white gravy I will ever need to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domsmommy2003

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States