Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Like other reviewers said...you really need to use sausage or bacon drippings instead of vegetable oil. If you have neither, use butter! I also used TONS more salt and pepper than called for in the recipe, otherwise it is just too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
its very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking4nine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This was an excellent basic country gravy recipe that I used with country fried steak. It makes a lot so I had some left over to put over biscuits later too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I just made this not happy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I just made this for the first time, it turned out nice, however I still get a flour-y consistency and slight taste though I cooked the rue until brown(approx. 11 minutes on medium heat). It was also extremely bland considering I used the said amount of salt and pepper. I did have to add 2 beef bullion cubes for more flavor. I mixed in some ground venison and bacon. I did use butter and bacon rendering instead of oil. Over-all it's a great recipe that I plan on using and playing with until it suits our taste. Great starter gravy!! I did want to add to say, that I really like this recipe because it gives you room to add ingredients and play with, without ruining the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Voymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wixom, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I have made lots of gravy in my 55 years , and I thought this was a great recipe , I followed the direction (I always have made my gravy from memory ) it was perfect smooth, white, silky , and very tasty I did add extra pepper and salt ... over all I give it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Delicious! This was the first one I read, it seemed simple and it was and it was a big hit. Definitely the only white gravy I will ever need to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domsmommy2003

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Best of the best!! Been a southerner all my life and never made consistent gravy until now. My husband loved it! I'm sure you could half the batch but you'll eat more than you should if you make the full recipe! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
The only modification I made was to use butter instead of oil. It was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe today, and it was okay. I also found it to be very floury. I added some beef bouillon and some galic salt and it made it better. Definatley needed some adjusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candletrees1
Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States