Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Other than the "oil" this is the same recipe that I learned from my grandmother and great grandmother. Instead of oil I use a bulk sausage. You can get a roll of Jimmy Dean sausage (not links) from your local grocery store. Fry just like you would any ground meat. DO NOT DRAIN! You do not need the added salt. Add the flour and stir until brown, about 5 min. No need to cover. Stir in milk and cook as recipe dictates. I add the pepper at the end. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is basicly the same recipe that my Grandmother used. I assume that this one is for the basic because it is a little bland. We always use the drippings whether bacon, chicken or steak and the flavor pops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Yup, that's the recipe. But people didn't use vegetable oil when I grew up with. Bacon grease sat in the strainer on the stove, and was the standard ingredient for everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Donley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Good Gravy! If you use butter you have the basic classic white sauce. If you use rendered fat from meat...you have gravy. Cook sausage and use the rendered fat from that for some good sausage and biscuits with gravy. Fried chicken too! Discard the excess oil and use the frying grease with the brown bits in the bottom of the pan for some killer chicken gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Any country girl knows that you use sausage drippings to make country gravy. Using plain oil is what we did when we didn't have the money for meat, and the gravy is bland this way. Use bacon, sausage, or ham drippings, and I suggest that you also crumble some sausage into the gravy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was my grandfather's recipe except he made it after frying chicken. It is an old cowboy/homesteader recipe originally and also good with meatballs. In both cases, the drippings are used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I'M FROM THE SOUTH. MY GRAND-MOTHER SHOW ME HOW TO MAKE.GRAVY. ITS THE SAME AS YOUR BUT INSTEAD OF OIL. WHEN I FRIED OUT BACON OR SAUSAGE. I USED THE GREASE FROM THEM. TO MAKE MY GRAVY. ALSO IF YOU MAKE HOME MADE BISCULT USED FRESH BUTTER MILK. ANY WAY IT GOES BISCULTS& GRAVY IS GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by genellep

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
So Easy, So Good, So Versatile. Breath_In_Dreams said she wasn't going to brown the flour next time because she said it tasted like browned flour. Wait until she gets the taste of "raw" flour. Ich. Just brown it as much as you think you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Now ladies remember that little old WIRE WISK get it out and use it no more lumpy gravy . BURPLE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is the base I use for chipped beef gravy. My mother used to put bacon grease or sausage in it and put it over homemade biscuts. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States