Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Easy white sauce. I use equal butter (melted 1st) to flour, and REALLY blend well while it cooks "low and slow". S&P of course, then the milk & add in 1 pkg Buddig Beef (chopped) to make "Stuff on a a Shingle" served over toast. Thanks for posting for all who don't know the basic white sauce. Glad to see someone has the idea. I'm gonna try bisquits and gravy with it (thanks for the reminder).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is the same recipe my mother used and her mother before her (gram was born in 1900)! The only difference is they made the roux in the same pan they used to fry chicken. Leave just enough of the oil that the chicken was fried in, add the flour, then add the milk. We never had this for breakfast, only with fried chicken for dinner. It is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I can't imagine using oil. Using butter or drippings will make a tasty gravy. Saute garlic in the butter and for variations add onion, mushrooms and sundried tomatoes. If you get creative, add parsley or basil to the butter. Add the milk slowly, stirring constantly and the flour will cook nicely and not taste floury. This is also a wonderful base for cream soups to add to cooked vegetables along with enough liquid to make desired consistancy. Add acouple of cups of cheese for cheese soup. Not heart healthy, but really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Too much vegetable oil. The best gravy I make is brown one pound of pork sausage, add 1/4 cup flour and mix. Add two cups of milk and cook until thickened. Simple and tasty. Add seasonings to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I agree with other reviewers that using butter gives a better tasting gravy...as well as making sure to cook the roux long enough to avoid the floury taste. I have used this basic recipe for a lot of things. One of my kids favorites: Creamed chicken over biscuits. Make the gravy (using butter) according to this recipe. Add cooked chicken, peas, grated carrots, chopped onion (saute the carrots and onion separately then add) and use your preferred herbs--I usually add some basil and tarragon. Serve over biscuits. Great way to use up leftover turkey or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was great, but I always use a can of evaporated milk to make my gravy, it seems to make it richer and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Other than the "oil" this is the same recipe that I learned from my grandmother and great grandmother. Instead of oil I use a bulk sausage. You can get a roll of Jimmy Dean sausage (not links) from your local grocery store. Fry just like you would any ground meat. DO NOT DRAIN! You do not need the added salt. Add the flour and stir until brown, about 5 min. No need to cover. Stir in milk and cook as recipe dictates. I add the pepper at the end. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is basicly the same recipe that my Grandmother used. I assume that this one is for the basic because it is a little bland. We always use the drippings whether bacon, chicken or steak and the flavor pops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Yup, that's the recipe. But people didn't use vegetable oil when I grew up with. Bacon grease sat in the strainer on the stove, and was the standard ingredient for everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Donley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Good Gravy! If you use butter you have the basic classic white sauce. If you use rendered fat from meat...you have gravy. Cook sausage and use the rendered fat from that for some good sausage and biscuits with gravy. Fried chicken too! Discard the excess oil and use the frying grease with the brown bits in the bottom of the pan for some killer chicken gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States