Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was okay...the problem is I think there is way too much vegetable oil. Next time I may use half the oil and half butter or even olive oil. The oil is just too overpowering even after cooking it for 30 minutes. However, it does have great potential and made a decent sausage gravy with crumbled spicy sausage and enough salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I gave it 4 stars because if you are from the South (like me), you will only make milk gravy with bacon or sausage drippings or grease (with the little crispies) where you have just fried chicken. I am 57 years old and have never heard of using butter to make gravy! I also don't like my gravy as white as flour......so, I cook the roux to a nice brown color before slowly adding the milk. Wonderful over biscuits, toast, mashed potatoes or fresh sliced home-grown tomatoes (my personal favorite). I also want my gravy plain....meaning no crumbled up meat in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I have a very similar recipe but I use 1/4 cup less flour. Also I do not brown the roux so much. I do cook it for a few minutes to remove the flour taste. I also first cook some bacon then in the bacon grease I brown and crumble sausage then add the flour to the sausage. No additional oil is necessary. To borrow a catch phraze from a famous culinarian... the bacon grease and sausage really kick this recipe up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This is a good recipe I concur with the other posts about using sausage or bacon grease, but you can also use the drippings from fried chicken. Using these drippings will increase your flavor, you could also add powdered chicken base to the gravy as it cooks. If you find that your gravely tastes floury it is because you are not cooking it long enough this is the most important part, cook on low heat and cook at least 5 min ,I usually cook it until it turns light brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This sounds just like what my mother used to make when I was younger. Unfortunately she didn't have the recipe written down and I've never been able to duplicate it. I do remember her using shortening instead of oil and evaporated milk for a thicker gravy - and lots of pepper! I may now try making from scratch again instead of buying the package mixes. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oostburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
just a note gravy needs to boil after all milk is added then will not taste like flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I liked it at first, then realized it needed more pepper. It also tasted a little too much like flour still. I'm not a gravy expert, but I would like to try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
If you use 1/2 evaporated milk and 1/2 water, it tastes even more country. This is how my great-grandmother made hers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
If you ever have it with fried green tomatoes you will think you did and went to the heaven cafeteria... I have it with bacon and put a bit of bacon grease in for the flavor with the tomatoes. OK it isn't great for you, but if you have it only once in a while, my diabetic doctor says it is fine... You only live once..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Easiest way to make is in a wok. Cook your Jimmy Dean sausage and leave the drippings in the pan. Use butter and the flour with no extra salt. Add the milk after your flour is browned and then put on your Grands biscuits. Bring to a boil and then back it down some letting the water evaporate and put the sausage in the gravy while stirring constantly. Pour this sausage gravy over grands biscuits and you are in heaven....and will be full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States