Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Great start to a really great gravy. I have made gravy before that taste just like flour so I was cautious when using this one. Bacon grease that someone else suggested would provide the best flavor. However, my guy doesn't eat beef or pork so I have to find other alternatives. I uses butter instead of oil and added chicken bouillon, pepper and garlic. It came out perfect with my smothered chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Made this gravy today for breakfast! Turned out wonderful, I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Why would you use vegetable oil?? I should've gone with my gut and used butter! Followed this exactly and this tasted like jellied oil. No amount of salt or pepper can fix that taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Boy was this thick! I'd always heard a basic ratio of 1 part oil to one part flour when making a roux, so I was hesitant but went with the 3/4 cup flour. Next time I will reduce the amount of flour. I took the advice of several reviewers and used bacon grease. The taste was good. Some people had said there was a strong taste of flour; that happens if you do not cook the flour long enough before adding the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I was looking for a good biscuits and gravy type gravy without the sausage and this was it. Exactly what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Blah...very flavorless. Needs something. Gave it 3 stars because it's a good start to something, but definitely needs tweaking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I thought it was horrible. The awful taste of vegetable oil is lingering in my mouth. I thought it was just me, but no, I did everything how the recipe said. Next time I'll use a recipe with butter or just wait until I fry some meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Really yummy. I added a pound of chicken sausage. First crumbled and cooked the sausage, then added the butter (instead of oil) until melted. Make sure you cook the flour mixture after you add it. Just let it bubble and brown for a few minutes so you avoid the flour taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This was my first attempt at country gravy. This recipe was so easy to follow. The gravy was smooth and creamy. I did add a little ground sausage, per my husbands request, it was really good. We both thought it needed a little more seasoning, but that is just personal preference. Will make this again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
The gravy was DELICIOUS but, I've added some garlic salt, Accent and pepper because I like flavor in my food!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msdramaqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States