Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
I LOVE this gravy and the easy to follow instructions. It is much lighter tha a sausage gravy and i like it much better on chicken fried steak. However, i had a mishap when cooking a dinner for 20-25 people on my husband's birthday. I had some powdered sugar in one of my kitchen cannisters instead of flour. Embarrasing, but the guests kindly said that they thought it was a new sauce. Still, the gravy looked beautiful. I do add lots of pepper and sometimes a little granulated garlic and/or parsley for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Creede, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
This was very bland. I wish I used butter, not oil. There wasn't enough salt or pepper. Needed garlic and onion powders to perk up the plain flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by schwanfam
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
No changes except added more pepper. Wife said it is the best country gravy ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
This was really good but I ended up having to add a LOT more milk because it was so thick. Will definitely make again but cut back on the flour a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beklii13
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
Great recipe other than the fact that there was absolutely no flavor! I had to add a lot more salt and pepper. I also added some fried onion and Worcestershire sauce and garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I added a chicken bullion cube, onion powder, garlic powder, parsley, more salt and pepper. Then I added a couple tablespoons of the juice and teriyaki sauce that I cooked the pork chops in. That made it palatable. I guess I could have added butter as well. I may have "browned" the oil/flour mixture too long. Recipe says 10 minutes, I did it 8 and it was a bit too long. I'll try 6-7 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FallenAnjel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I made this as directed. It was not terrible, but it lacked flavor. I would use this recipe again as a template, but would use butter or bacon grease (that I have saved in the freezer) in place of oil. Consistency was right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Ok this is a great all around recipe for a basic cream gravy. As one review stated if it taste of flour you are not cooking it long enough. For richer flavor instead of oil butter is OK, sausage / bacon grease even better. If not cooking bacon / sausage my mom always used lard. If pan frying a steak add lard to left over grease / meat drippings and continue as recipe instructs. I will make one comment some will disagree with. Keep your darn Garlic for cuisine not labeled southern! I love Garlic but on basic white / creak gravy you gotta be kidding me. Salt, Pepper, meat drippings nothing else needed. You can use cream, evaporated milk + water, chicken / turkey stock,even plain water if it is all you have. Any combination of liquids can be tried for that special secret recipe of your own. WE always had a tight budget and gravy was an inexpensive way to add calories / fat to make kids full and satisfied. Fat is good in moderation! Besides it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fzzy Bttcrak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Really good and easy peasy! Threw in some leftover crumbled up sausage which will always make it 'mo betta'!! It was my first attempt at white gravy, and it turned out really well. Thumbs up from the FAM, so it must be alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Butter instead of oil. Let the butter and flour cook for 10 mins. Will thicken upon standing. A little chicken boullion instead of salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States