Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
If you want real country flavor, brown the flour in sausage grease (my favorite) or bacon grease. Also, try it with buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
EXCELLENTE! Used bacon drippings instead of oil and Used 1/2 cup flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAKES CORNER by WILILYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I use butter instead of oil. Also a little crumbled up cooked bacon and sausage. Salt is a necessity, without it no flavor at all also pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and a dash of Worchestshire sauce. Country gravy has to be more than a white sauce. It has to taste like southern country. Maybe a 1/2 tsp. of chicken bouillon also. Lee S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Great basic recipe. I agree with others that adding bacon or sauage/drippings would add more flavor. I will also try it with butter sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
So even though I'm a Canadian girl, I've always had a fascination with southern cooking- I used this recipe and changed it up a little- I added a garlic clove and used butter instead of oil- cooked that up- then added the flour- added 1/2 veggie stock- 1/2 milk, it turned out really yummy-served it over chicken fried chicken- hope it was still true to the south :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
WOW! Yummy, just like I get when I go down South to visit my son...without the 10 hour drive! I browned sausage and had to add some butter because there wasn't enough fat in the pan, and didn't use as much milk because I like my gravy thick. No salt or pepper either, because I added the sausage back in and there was plenty of both in the sausage. A dash of garlic just 'cause we like garlic. Spoon over biscuits and YUM! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was okay...the problem is I think there is way too much vegetable oil. Next time I may use half the oil and half butter or even olive oil. The oil is just too overpowering even after cooking it for 30 minutes. However, it does have great potential and made a decent sausage gravy with crumbled spicy sausage and enough salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I gave it 4 stars because if you are from the South (like me), you will only make milk gravy with bacon or sausage drippings or grease (with the little crispies) where you have just fried chicken. I am 57 years old and have never heard of using butter to make gravy! I also don't like my gravy as white as flour......so, I cook the roux to a nice brown color before slowly adding the milk. Wonderful over biscuits, toast, mashed potatoes or fresh sliced home-grown tomatoes (my personal favorite). I also want my gravy plain....meaning no crumbled up meat in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I have a very similar recipe but I use 1/4 cup less flour. Also I do not brown the roux so much. I do cook it for a few minutes to remove the flour taste. I also first cook some bacon then in the bacon grease I brown and crumble sausage then add the flour to the sausage. No additional oil is necessary. To borrow a catch phraze from a famous culinarian... the bacon grease and sausage really kick this recipe up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This is a good recipe I concur with the other posts about using sausage or bacon grease, but you can also use the drippings from fried chicken. Using these drippings will increase your flavor, you could also add powdered chicken base to the gravy as it cooks. If you find that your gravely tastes floury it is because you are not cooking it long enough this is the most important part, cook on low heat and cook at least 5 min ,I usually cook it until it turns light brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States