Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Love this make it at least once a week! so easy and so good on just about everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
It tasted fine. Like I expected, which is like other sausage gravies that I've had. I used butter instead of oil and added sausage and sausage grease as other reviewers recommended. But I wouldn't say this gravy is out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandyjoy38
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
this was one of the best recipes ive ever had. i made the suggested amount for 6, it was just me and my hubby but the rest was used for the next morning to make biscuits and gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandyjoy38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Great recipe! I only cooked the roux for a short time (2 minutes or so) and added sausage drippings with the milk. very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I used a stick of butter instead as I did not have vegetable oil. I always use fresh ground pepper as we like the big chunks of pepper. We served over biscuits and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I made this just this morning for 50 people. I added buttermilk as well. Just a bit heavy on the buttermilk. This gravy came out great anyhow. Thickened up perfectly. Will use this gravy each time I need a good gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
it tasted like flour, even though i cooked the rue for 10 min, i used butter instead of the oil and some bacon grease, im sure it was good but maybe since i used butter i shouldve changed the flour measurements
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Made this tonight to go with ham and potatoes, although I used butter instead of oil. It was fantastic! My kids and my husband both couldn't stop eating it! Thanks for the simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Pretty tasty. I followed the recipe, but made some minor changes. I cooked up some bacon and sausage in the same pan, prior to mixing the gravy, so used that leftover grease to start with. Instead of Veggie Oil, I used some butter I had in the fridge. Be careful so it doesn't burn.... This is my first review, but soon you'll know that I like using garlic in my food. Since this is country-style, I used very little, just a few pinches. Paprika and some Tabasco red hot sauce was added as well, in addition, fresh ground black pepper!!!! Don't cook the gravy too long or it'll be very thick when it settles, so thick that it will act like icing on your biscuits or hash browns or eggs.... Overall, fantastic. Now I can make country style gravy from scratch when I make my country-fried pork chops!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omegasupreme5000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I was making biscuits and gravy last night for my family and one of my children is a vegetarian so I decided to try recipe. I turned out really well. The only thing I changed was using butter instead of oil. So good my daughter was inquiring this morning where I had put the left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States