Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Have made this for quite a few mornings of my 64 years, I have also added bacon bits to this and it turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Milk curdled instant I added it to the flour mixture. Made my ENTIRE kitchen smell awful for two hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina Ramage
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
It's was easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Ramage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liliana Davis-ponce
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Great recipe, I added it to my little black box of recipes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Rossman
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Loved it.. Just like when i was young
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Rossman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Quick and easy. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I don't have to make this recipe to know not to use oil. Butter, at the bare minimum. But, sausage drippings are the best. However, I always save my bacon drippings, so I would use that. But, I do want to say thank you for the basic recipe. I love biscuits and gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I use this recipe all the time. My dad loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I used a stick butter and added a little bacon grease and this recipe was spot on! I made it for a birthday breakfast for the boyfriend and he loved it and he's worse than a kid with how picky he is! I would say it's a lot for two people but as he said "You can never have too much gravy" (he's from the south)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki McKenzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Those finding the recipe is floury is because you are not letting the flour brown enough in the fat before you add the milk, once you add the milk absolutely under no circumstance should you add more flour. The flour cooked in the fat is a roux, if you dont let the fat and heat do its thing to the flour its going to taste floury. Butter would be a traditional french base. Real southern style country gravy is made with pan drippings(bacon, sausage, fried ham[not honey ham] even fried chicken) if need to augment the pan drippings then try lard, if no lard then use butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States