Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
just a note gravy needs to boil after all milk is added then will not taste like flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I liked it at first, then realized it needed more pepper. It also tasted a little too much like flour still. I'm not a gravy expert, but I would like to try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
If you use 1/2 evaporated milk and 1/2 water, it tastes even more country. This is how my great-grandmother made hers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
If you ever have it with fried green tomatoes you will think you did and went to the heaven cafeteria... I have it with bacon and put a bit of bacon grease in for the flavor with the tomatoes. OK it isn't great for you, but if you have it only once in a while, my diabetic doctor says it is fine... You only live once..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Easiest way to make is in a wok. Cook your Jimmy Dean sausage and leave the drippings in the pan. Use butter and the flour with no extra salt. Add the milk after your flour is browned and then put on your Grands biscuits. Bring to a boil and then back it down some letting the water evaporate and put the sausage in the gravy while stirring constantly. Pour this sausage gravy over grands biscuits and you are in heaven....and will be full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
The olive oil is healthier, but doesn't taste "right". To make this true "country" gravy, you have to use bacon grease or the drippings from fried sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is basic white sauce, except for using oil in the roux which is okay for dishes like stews, Jambalaya.etc. where they use a 'penny' colored roux. Butter is the norm for white sauce. However, making a southern style gravy I'd use the fat from bacon or sausage for that special flavor and ad some crumbled sausage or bacon with it. Now for the 'starchy' taste, that comes from not cooking the roux long enough to remove the starch flavor which takes about 8-10 minutes and a lower temp if you're wanting a blond roux, which is indicated by using milk. At least half chicken stock and milk will move the gravy away from being bland.Oil is neutral as far as flavor is concerned. Just take a little time and get the starch taste out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I use this recipe for biscuits and gravy, but add 2 tbsp. of butter to the sausage grease and use cornstarch instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
A good starting point. For breakfast gravy, I always use bacon or sausage grease. Not the same without it. And if serving with pork, I add the pork drippings - and if serving with chicken, I add either chicken bouillon or chicken broth (in place of some of the milk). I felt this recipe, as it stood, was a little too bland. Cooking is all about flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I thought this was a great gravy. I make a lot of gravy in lots of different ways so this is a nice addition. So many negative reviews about how they made it different. Well, why did you look at the recipe then? Obviously, you are an expert! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 121-130 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States