Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I use this recipe for biscuits and gravy, but add 2 tbsp. of butter to the sausage grease and use cornstarch instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
A good starting point. For breakfast gravy, I always use bacon or sausage grease. Not the same without it. And if serving with pork, I add the pork drippings - and if serving with chicken, I add either chicken bouillon or chicken broth (in place of some of the milk). I felt this recipe, as it stood, was a little too bland. Cooking is all about flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I thought this was a great gravy. I make a lot of gravy in lots of different ways so this is a nice addition. So many negative reviews about how they made it different. Well, why did you look at the recipe then? Obviously, you are an expert! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I give this 5 stars. It is much like a gravy I make to use over mashed potatoes. I, too, use saved bacon grease (I freeze it every time I do bacon). It is just SO much better this way. When I use the bacon grease, I don't add butter. I also will fry up 1/2# of country sausage, add some of the grease (if there is any, we buy REALLY lean sausage) and then add it to the gravy. This is just great over biscuits. Tonite for the first time I made elk country steaks and gravy w/the drippings from the steaks. Turned out GREAT!! The only spices I add are salt & pepper. This is a wonderful all around gravy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBTLady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
It is easy tasty gravy but substitute oil with butter and and a dash of nutmeg for superior taste. I give it 4 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is close to the same gravy my mother taught me to make when I was a young girl. We used this gravy over chicken fried steak and over mashed potatoes as well as a breakfast gravy. Add your seasonings to the flour before you cook it, and it is very important to make sure the flour is cooked... it won't be brown, but allow it to cook slowly so as not to burn it. You can't rush good gravy!! You MUST add the water only a little at a time... the pan will be hot and you may get burned by spatters if you don't. Instead of water, you could also use chicken broth or beef broth to add flavor. Then add as much milk to make it creamy and the consistency you want, warm through, and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Also great made with drippings from fried chicken or chicken fried steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is much like my rue or white sauce, but I make it with a stick of butter instead of the oil. Your way there is not so much taste over biscuits. So, I crumble up a lb of bulk country sausage with the butter when browning, when the sausage is cooked through, thicken with the flour and proceed as directed. It is so much better over biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Mmmm......takes me back. My mom used to make this all the time for us. She would even use bacon grease. I try to make it and it turns out, but it never seems to taste as good as my moms. I miss her! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I make sauage gravy at work couple time a month. I always save bacon grease from other breakfasts. This is great for this gravy. I use a iron skillet to fry the sausage, tilt the pan still on the fire use whatever grease comes from it and add bacon grease and flour to get the right texture keep stiring till its browns, lay pan back level, add milk while it boils till you get your desired thickness and its always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States