Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I'm really torn here. On one hand, I wanted to make biscuits and gravy and had vegetarian guests over, so it was cool to see a recipe that specifically does not call for animal fat (although that clearly makes it better). On the other hand, I found myself in a situation where I just added more and more milk in an effort for my gravy to be less thick and... kind of gelatinous? I'm presuming that's because I used oil instead of butter. So maybe it would be a solid 4 stars with butter (and bacon grease!), but then I'd no longer be reviewing the present recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
WORSE GRAVY ON FACE OF PLANET .. I HAVE WORKED AT A CATERING SERVICE FOR 15 YEARS SO I NO WHEN GOOD IS GOOD AND BAD IS BAD ... THIS IS NOT BAD THIS IS THE WORST EVER WOULD NOT EVEN FEED TO DOGS SUB THE OIL FOR BUTTER AND PUT LESS FLOUR AND MILK IN IT AND PUT SUGER IN AS WELL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Davidson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I'm sorry, but I did not care for this! I followed the recipe precisely. And yes, I did cook the roux long enough. It had a nasty, greasy, floury taste. Adding additional seasonings couldn't even redeem this. Growing up in the south, I've had my fair share of gravy, and this is not gravy, this is paste! I'm just happy that this was an inexpensive cooking lesson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
It was a good start unfortunatly all I could tast was prpper and flour.after trying a few spices it seemed to tast better. I got rid of the flowery tast and texture by adding more milk as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Basic, but good. I've noticed that when I sub butter in for the oil (cus butter makes everything better) I used closer to 3 cups of milk. Just have to add milk slowly and stop when its at the consistency you want. Other than that, its gravy and its great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
No taste except flour. Too much oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Have made this for quite a few mornings of my 64 years, I have also added bacon bits to this and it turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Milk curdled instant I added it to the flour mixture. Made my ENTIRE kitchen smell awful for two hours! Not a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina Ramage
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
It's was easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Ramage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States