Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Quick and easy. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I don't have to make this recipe to know not to use oil. Butter, at the bare minimum. But, sausage drippings are the best. However, I always save my bacon drippings, so I would use that. But, I do want to say thank you for the basic recipe. I love biscuits and gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I use this recipe all the time. My dad loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I used a stick butter and added a little bacon grease and this recipe was spot on! I made it for a birthday breakfast for the boyfriend and he loved it and he's worse than a kid with how picky he is! I would say it's a lot for two people but as he said "You can never have too much gravy" (he's from the south)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki McKenzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Those finding the recipe is floury is because you are not letting the flour brown enough in the fat before you add the milk, once you add the milk absolutely under no circumstance should you add more flour. The flour cooked in the fat is a roux, if you dont let the fat and heat do its thing to the flour its going to taste floury. Butter would be a traditional french base. Real southern style country gravy is made with pan drippings(bacon, sausage, fried ham[not honey ham] even fried chicken) if need to augment the pan drippings then try lard, if no lard then use butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I've never had the best luck using vegetable oil for this, as it seems to me as though unless it's super fresh the taste goes off. Nothing nastier than rancid veggie oil. However, rather than butter what I've found does work well is butter-flavored shortening. Of course bacon, burger or sausage grease is still the best!, but shortening is a good fall-back. I've had good luck adding either a bit of garlic, sugar and sage (sausage hint) or cayenne pepper, as well. Normally I'll also be browning some finely diced onion with the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Another user making this their "own" 'Not so country country gravy' I made mine with butter as well in instead of oil. I added 1 add'l tsp of pepper 2 packets of no sodium beef bullion 1/3 jar bacon bits Cook as directed by the original recipe and add the beef bullion to the roux Add bacon bits to the roux in last 5 minutes of cooking. I stirred the roux for the whole cook time. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Excellent easy gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I have made this often and it is great!! Really a great recipe. Just FYI though, I didn't have butter or oil this last time and so tried using olive oil. Let me tell you this is not a good Idea. It wasn't bad but It certainly wasn't what I was hoping for. Butter is by far the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluwht88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I am from Texas so I use bacon drippings that have been strained. I also heat about a cup of the milk and use this as the beginning milk, it ensures that there are no lumps. You can pop it in the microwave for about 45 seconds to warm it up. If you add cold milk to the roux, you are pretty much ensured to have lumps that you will have to stir like crazy to get rid of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenneth Easterling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States