Mom's Classic Reuben Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
my original recipe stated to use sandwich spread, more like thousand island. I think you will find this makes it better than the Miracle Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hofstatter Noftz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Yes Robin, this is truly a man's man kind of sandwich! I too used Thousand Island dressing in lieu of the Miracle Whip and it added the tang that's typically associated with a reuben sandwich. Your mom did a great job and we thank her!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Diana
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This was fabulous! I used sourdough bread instead of rye and my husband said it was the best rueben he's ever had. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
this is truly the master reuben of all time. wow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is a delicious recipe. I used low fat Thousand Island dressing and sprinkled lemon pepper on the buttered outsides of the sandwich before grilling-- my husband LOVES this sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was very good. I like it alot better than the traditional reuben and I really like Reubens ! I used pastrami in place of the corned beef because that is what I had on hand. Will absolutely make again. My kids even liked it and they are not big reuben lovers. Thanks Mom ! It was Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Good Reuben
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victor

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
My son-in-law made this and everyone seemed like it, but the sodium content was much too high for my reduced sodium blood pressure diet. What a shame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I didn't care for this at all. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Pastrami-Spiced Duck Breast Reuben

Duck breasts get the pastrami-spice treatment in this main-dish "reuben."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States