Mom's Chocolate Zucchini Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
These are excellent and exactly what I was looking for to use up some zucchini! I read several other reviews which stated there was too much "spice" from the cloves and cinnamon, and since I was looking for a chocolate chip or a chocolate-chocolate chip cookie, I decided to leave out the cloves and only used 1/2 the cinnamon (we really like cinnamon, so I thought that would be a nice background touch). I also increased the amount of chocolate chips by about a 1/2 cup to make them more of a chocolate chip cookie. And like another review said, I was worried they weren't done after 10 or 11 minutes, but once they sit for a few minutes, they are absolutely perfect! I will definitely try the original recipe with cloves soon. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
These were delicious. I didn't change anything. Perhaps it is more cakey than brownie because of the two eggs instead of just one, or because of not squeezing the water out of the zucchini first. I'm not sure putting zucchini in these can make them nutritious, though. That must be overweighed by the sugar and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
delicious and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
You cant taste the zucchini and its good for a chocolate fix. I had to add a half cup more flour and dropped the cookies instead of rolling them as it was so sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leighann Watts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
These were ok, a little bland, it used up my last bit of zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Recovery, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coldwater, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
These were good, but they don't keep that well. They are cakey cookies - don't expect a chewy/crisp cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I made these for recipe group and would definitely make again.. Mine look a little stringy due to the zucchini being in longer pieces than I realized but it wasn't apparent until it was in the dough and only affected the look. I also don't care for cloves so replaced with nutmeg but then accidentally halved the cinnamon and ended up a little bland. I used butter and white whole wheat flour, as I always do, and replaced the egg with a flax/water sub due to allergies. All in all it sounds like a lot of changes but not really and I ate three right out of the oven so I think with the correct spice measure these would certainly be deserving of 4 stars even though I personally prefer a less cakey cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Recipe Group selection 7/30/11. I made half a batch with some changes. I replaced the margarine with butter, cut the sugar back to 2/3 cup for half a batch and would cut it back to 1/2 cup if I make these again. I omitted the cloves because we just don't care for them. I increased the cocoa powder by 1 tbs and probably used about 3/4 cup of chocolate chips. I love the way the cinnamon flavor plays off the chocolate and generally found them to be moist, but more cakelike than I prefer. The dough was too soft to roll into balls even after chilling for over an hour, so I just used my cookie scoop and that worked just fine. You would never know there is any zucchini in these cookies. Thanks, Bounce for a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
These were to die for! I didn't even notice the zucchini. I love the spices. Others might not enjoy the strong clove flavor, but I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Made this recipe for the *RECIPE GROUP* I thought these were quite good! Made a few changes... I didn't use all of the cloves and cinnamon, added more cocoa powder and forgot to add the chocolate chips. Very good, just not too much flavor. (maybe that's because of my changes, idk, but I didn't want a spice cookie)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States