Mom's Chocolate Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I really like this recipe! I put in a bit less sugar and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Made this today, it is good but need more chocolaty flavor, and little bit more moist, will try adding a pudding mix or melted chocolate into the batter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very good! My first pound cake and rather than a bunt cake I used it to make a layer cake and it worked beautifully. While I agree with some of the others that the chocolate flavour was a little on the weaker side, it worked for what I was doing because I was using other heavy chocolate flavours so it was better that the cake itself was mild. I may mod the recipe the next time I use it just to make it a little more chocolate-y and give it a bit more moistness, but the cake worked perfectly as a layer cake and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I am sorry, but I didn't like this cake at all. It had really unappealing consistency and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Mae Bliss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I wasn't a big fan of this recipe (sorry!). The chocolate flavour is definitely weak and it wasn't as moist as other pound cakes I've made. I followed it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I had a little extra batter that I used to make mini cupcakes and my granddaughter loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gainesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I hate giving negative reviews but I feel like I have to on this one. I am a professional cake designer so I know my way around cake. This cake had a strange texture and was very heavy but not in a good way! The chocolate flavor was very lacking. My two year old wouldn't even eat this cake. I will stick with my own chocolate pound cake recipe. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This cake is moist and delicious! I added coconut and pecans to the batter then frosted it with a German Chocolate cake frosting also on this site and it was wonderful, however this cake really needs no frosting. A dusting of powdered sugar for looks will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeTheBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Devine, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
LOVE this cake! My son volunteered me to make a couple of cakes for his school's cake walk fundraiser and I decided to give this one a test before making it for the school. It was by far one of the easiest cakes I have ever made and it is delicious! The only draw back (if you consider it one) is that once I put it on the table for the family to try it was gone in less than five minutes. It was a huge hit and my husband is having me take one up to his work today for him and his co-workers. I am sure it will be a big hit at the cake walk and has become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This sounds sooo yummy. It takes coffee cake to the next level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States