Mom's Chocolate Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Made this today, it is good but need more chocolaty flavor, and little bit more moist, will try adding a pudding mix or melted chocolate into the batter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very good! My first pound cake and rather than a bunt cake I used it to make a layer cake and it worked beautifully. While I agree with some of the others that the chocolate flavour was a little on the weaker side, it worked for what I was doing because I was using other heavy chocolate flavours so it was better that the cake itself was mild. I may mod the recipe the next time I use it just to make it a little more chocolate-y and give it a bit more moistness, but the cake worked perfectly as a layer cake and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I am sorry, but I didn't like this cake at all. It had really unappealing consistency and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I wasn't a big fan of this recipe (sorry!). The chocolate flavour is definitely weak and it wasn't as moist as other pound cakes I've made. I followed it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I had a little extra batter that I used to make mini cupcakes and my granddaughter loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gainesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I hate giving negative reviews but I feel like I have to on this one. I am a professional cake designer so I know my way around cake. This cake had a strange texture and was very heavy but not in a good way! The chocolate flavor was very lacking. My two year old wouldn't even eat this cake. I will stick with my own chocolate pound cake recipe. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This cake is moist and delicious! I added coconut and pecans to the batter then frosted it with a German Chocolate cake frosting also on this site and it was wonderful, however this cake really needs no frosting. A dusting of powdered sugar for looks will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeTheBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Devine, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
LOVE this cake! My son volunteered me to make a couple of cakes for his school's cake walk fundraiser and I decided to give this one a test before making it for the school. It was by far one of the easiest cakes I have ever made and it is delicious! The only draw back (if you consider it one) is that once I put it on the table for the family to try it was gone in less than five minutes. It was a huge hit and my husband is having me take one up to his work today for him and his co-workers. I am sure it will be a big hit at the cake walk and has become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This sounds sooo yummy. It takes coffee cake to the next level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Excellent recipe! My first successful Bundt cake. The author is not kidding about greasing the fluted pan liberally. I used shortening and flour, make sure to get in all the creases. I ended up using buttermilk because I had precisely one cup left. I also used BAKERS squares as I did not have powdered cocoa. Both easy conversions to the original recipe simply by reducing the butter a bit. (3 Tb in my case). It is also true that the cake does not need frosting. I simply drizzled the 'Chocolate Glaze I' on top for fun. Yummy cake! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States