Mom's Chocolate Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
My family (mom and aunties) could not quit telling me how proud my grandmother would have been that someone knows how to make HER chocolate pie!! It was scrumptious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvBNaMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I made this today. I followed the recipe exactly & it turned out GREAT! First time making a meringue & the first time I ever heard my husband say "This is better than my mom used to make." about something I cooked. So I guess I'll be making it pretty often lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Flaherty, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Living Well
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I read all the reviews and made it with 2 T butter and an extra 1/2 cup of milk as recommended - it was perfect!! I like it a touch more chocolatey- but then I like dark chocolate better than milk - so next time I may try a different kind of cocoa powder for fun - but the recipe is great if you add those two additional things! I think it really would have been too thick otherwise as it was perfect this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Instead of a birthday cake, my husband requested a homemade chocolate pie for his special day. This pie turned out GREAT and was a big hit. I added 1 additional TBS of cornstarch after reading other reviews. My mother in-law has made a similar pie but uses flour instead of cornstarch (if substituting with flour add double the amt. of flour). I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
For years I have been asking a member of my family for her chocolate pie recipe, she has yet to turn it over. I found this recipe quite by accident and love it. I have made it as just a chocolate pie and as a meringue pie and both are excellent. It is quite an elegant presentation for any dessert occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zelia M. Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Oh my goodness. I'd lost my great grandmother's recipe and needed to serve chocolate pie for Thanksgiving. I used this recipe (I substituted the new Hershey's Special Dark unsweetened cocoa powder and heaping tablespoons of the powder instead of level ones, because we love dark chocolate) and they turned out wonderful. I don't think anyone could tell that it wasn't the old recipe. The only caution I have for anyone making this recipe is follow the initial cooking instructions carefully. Medium High heat on my stove is a little too hot, but make sure it is thick and bubbly before moving on, otherwise the pie won't set right. The only other tip is make the meringue ahead of time so the pie is very hot when spreading the meringue. This keeps the meringue from shrinking and exposing the chocolate underneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This came out great. I loved it!! When I made the custard, I tasted it straight out of the pan, and it was a bit bitter. I was kind of worried. But after letting it sit for awhile, the flavor mellowed out, and it was so rich and smooth. I used a different meringue recipe, so I can't comment on that. But the filling was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
My husband loves chocolate pie and said this was the best one that he had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Because of the other reviews, I doubled the cornstarch and baked it for 20 minutes before topping it with meringue. After it cooled and I added the meringue, it baked for another 10 minutes. Delicious and not runny at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Excellent. I had no problem with it being too runny, as other reviewers seem to have had. Fantastic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States