Mom's Chocolate Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Oh my goodness. I'd lost my great grandmother's recipe and needed to serve chocolate pie for Thanksgiving. I used this recipe (I substituted the new Hershey's Special Dark unsweetened cocoa powder and heaping tablespoons of the powder instead of level ones, because we love dark chocolate) and they turned out wonderful. I don't think anyone could tell that it wasn't the old recipe. The only caution I have for anyone making this recipe is follow the initial cooking instructions carefully. Medium High heat on my stove is a little too hot, but make sure it is thick and bubbly before moving on, otherwise the pie won't set right. The only other tip is make the meringue ahead of time so the pie is very hot when spreading the meringue. This keeps the meringue from shrinking and exposing the chocolate underneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Because of the other reviews, I doubled the cornstarch and baked it for 20 minutes before topping it with meringue. After it cooled and I added the meringue, it baked for another 10 minutes. Delicious and not runny at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I did add an additional 1 T cornstarch and it set up just fine. Great taste, texture. I did however use the Meringue II recipe from this site because I've had great success with it - no weeping. Still, the chocolate filling was great and I'm glad I used that part of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Soooooo, so perfect! I reduced the sugar in the meringue by a couple tablespoons also (personal taste) and upped the cornstarch in the pudding by one tablespoon per past experiences with runny puddings/custards for pies. PERFECT. FRIENDLY TIP: per Smitten Kitchen and Joy of Cooking I discovered what happened once to an otherwise delicious pie we had to spoon into bowls to serve: the cornstarch bond CAN be delicate (a cooking mystery involving humidity and magic). Don't stir or move the custard too much once it's good and thick and starting to set. Don't set it aside for a second and let it start to set in the pan and THEN move it to crust, don't whisk it too vigorously after it's starting to set, etc. I learned the hard way: it was beautiful and thick and then I whisked one more time and set it aside while I whipped the meringue, then scraped it out into the pan and it turned back to LIQUID. I was dumbfounded and searched until I found that this CAN happen and this was why!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I made this twice for the holiday season trying to duplicate a pie my dad loves. The first time I made it as the recipe states, but it came out too gummy, not creamy like I wanted. People liked it, but I knew it could be much better. Second time I added an extra egg yolk to the mix and used 3 TB of cornstarch w/ 2 TB of flour. After the mix came to a boil I added 2 TB of butter. I threw the extra egg white in with the meringue, but that was just not to waste because the meringue is fine in this recipe. With those changes it really makes this pie five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
No butter? I added a half stick butter, upped the sugar to 2 cups, added an additional egg yolk and one whole egg and used flour in place of cornstarch. I cooked it all over medium heat until it was thick and bubbly and then added the cocoa. Make sure your pie crusts are completely cool or that will result in a runny pie as well. I used 6 egg whites for the meringue and placed it under the broiler for a couple minutes with the oven door open so it wouldn't burn....you have to watch it VERY closely if you do this though. And make sure you "seal" the meringue on the edges or it will shrink. The pie set up nicely this way and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
My family (mom and aunties) could not quit telling me how proud my grandmother would have been that someone knows how to make HER chocolate pie!! It was scrumptious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I attempted this recipe two days in a row. The first attempt following the recipe exactly resulted in a soupy mess. The next day I increased the corn starch to 5 T. and could barely stir it in the pan. I'm giving up on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This came out great. I loved it!! When I made the custard, I tasted it straight out of the pan, and it was a bit bitter. I was kind of worried. But after letting it sit for awhile, the flavor mellowed out, and it was so rich and smooth. I used a different meringue recipe, so I can't comment on that. But the filling was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
For years I have been asking a member of my family for her chocolate pie recipe, she has yet to turn it over. I found this recipe quite by accident and love it. I have made it as just a chocolate pie and as a meringue pie and both are excellent. It is quite an elegant presentation for any dessert occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States