Mom's Chocolate Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This recipe did fantastic! I did use 4 Tbsp of Cornstarch, as suggested by others. The filling and meringue were both perfect. I will use this as my standard "Chocolate Meringue Pie" recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Good recipe. Make sure to add additional corn starch to your pie or else it will be to runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanie60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This pie was great. I added 4 tbs of cornstarch instead of 3 and I used 6 egg whites for the meringue. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Instead of a birthday cake, my husband requested a homemade chocolate pie for his special day. This pie turned out GREAT and was a big hit. I added 1 additional TBS of cornstarch after reading other reviews. My mother in-law has made a similar pie but uses flour instead of cornstarch (if substituting with flour add double the amt. of flour). I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I just didn't like the flavor of this recipe. The pie looked great, but it wasn't the chocolate meringue pie flavor I grew up around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Oh my goodness. I'd lost my great grandmother's recipe and needed to serve chocolate pie for Thanksgiving. I used this recipe (I substituted the new Hershey's Special Dark unsweetened cocoa powder and heaping tablespoons of the powder instead of level ones, because we love dark chocolate) and they turned out wonderful. I don't think anyone could tell that it wasn't the old recipe. The only caution I have for anyone making this recipe is follow the initial cooking instructions carefully. Medium High heat on my stove is a little too hot, but make sure it is thick and bubbly before moving on, otherwise the pie won't set right. The only other tip is make the meringue ahead of time so the pie is very hot when spreading the meringue. This keeps the meringue from shrinking and exposing the chocolate underneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
My family (mom and aunties) could not quit telling me how proud my grandmother would have been that someone knows how to make HER chocolate pie!! It was scrumptious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvBNaMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I attempted this recipe two days in a row. The first attempt following the recipe exactly resulted in a soupy mess. The next day I increased the corn starch to 5 T. and could barely stir it in the pan. I'm giving up on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
For years I have been asking a member of my family for her chocolate pie recipe, she has yet to turn it over. I found this recipe quite by accident and love it. I have made it as just a chocolate pie and as a meringue pie and both are excellent. It is quite an elegant presentation for any dessert occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zelia M. Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I did add an additional 1 T cornstarch and it set up just fine. Great taste, texture. I did however use the Meringue II recipe from this site because I've had great success with it - no weeping. Still, the chocolate filling was great and I'm glad I used that part of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States