Mom's Chocolate Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Just made this yesterday and it came out beautifuly and so delicious! I did increase the cornstarch to 4 Tbs. and the egg yolks to 4. It set up just right and is so creamy, I'll definately use this as my Chocolate Meringue Pie recipe from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Living Well
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I read all the reviews and made it with 2 T butter and an extra 1/2 cup of milk as recommended - it was perfect!! I like it a touch more chocolatey- but then I like dark chocolate better than milk - so next time I may try a different kind of cocoa powder for fun - but the recipe is great if you add those two additional things! I think it really would have been too thick otherwise as it was perfect this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I made this today. I followed the recipe exactly & it turned out GREAT! First time making a meringue & the first time I ever heard my husband say "This is better than my mom used to make." about something I cooked. So I guess I'll be making it pretty often lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Flaherty, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I found this recipe on a different website, and not having the benefit of reading the reviews, I made the pie following the recipe exactly as stated. The pie did set up fine, but only after hours of cooling. My husband was so eager for a piece that he helped himself within 2 hours of the pie cooling on the countertop. Big mistake! A big soupy mess. I thought for sure I had a "pie fail" on my hands. However, after about 4-5 more hours of cooling, the rest of pie sliced up just fine. 3 TBS of cornstarch worked fine for me. However, I give just 4 stars because I didn't find the flavor to have much depth, the taste is reminiscent of JELL-O chocoate pudding, not a rich homemade creamy flavor that I would expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
No butter? I added a half stick butter, upped the sugar to 2 cups, added an additional egg yolk and one whole egg and used flour in place of cornstarch. I cooked it all over medium heat until it was thick and bubbly and then added the cocoa. Make sure your pie crusts are completely cool or that will result in a runny pie as well. I used 6 egg whites for the meringue and placed it under the broiler for a couple minutes with the oven door open so it wouldn't burn....you have to watch it VERY closely if you do this though. And make sure you "seal" the meringue on the edges or it will shrink. The pie set up nicely this way and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
great recipe also added about 1T of instant coffee to the filling just befor pouring it into the pie shell. yummy. I did not use the meringue topping this time just used homemade whip cream. Next time will try a meringue topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingsburg, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This recipe did fantastic! I did use 4 Tbsp of Cornstarch, as suggested by others. The filling and meringue were both perfect. I will use this as my standard "Chocolate Meringue Pie" recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Good recipe. Make sure to add additional corn starch to your pie or else it will be to runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanie60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This pie was great. I added 4 tbs of cornstarch instead of 3 and I used 6 egg whites for the meringue. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Instead of a birthday cake, my husband requested a homemade chocolate pie for his special day. This pie turned out GREAT and was a big hit. I added 1 additional TBS of cornstarch after reading other reviews. My mother in-law has made a similar pie but uses flour instead of cornstarch (if substituting with flour add double the amt. of flour). I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States