Mom's Chocolate Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was awesome! Really nice chocolate and the meringue was good too. Give it a try. You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I love to cook but don't do loads of baking. Usually, I cheat and use pudding mix and do the meringue the right way. I decided that was silly, so I found this recipe. I always read the comments; the advice about why sealing the pie is important was very helpful. This worked perfectly. I followed the ingredients to the letter, working with my 10-year-old (except timing -- I kind-of eyeballed that). The custard was so thick it was already setting as I was smoothing it out in the pie crust. The meringue (with only THREE egg whites!!!) is nearly 4 inches tall in the middle. I think this pie looks like something out of a magazine. WOW!!! I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena Barber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Good Chocolate meringue Pie recipe; after reading the reviews i added an extra tablespoon of cornstarch and sprinkled some cocoa on top..you could grate some chocolate also, but I was lazy and didn't want to go thru the trouble. Turned out good and tasted great. My picture turned out a little sloppy but it was taken a day after the pie was cut into. I kept the meringue @ 3 egg whites & 3 T of sugar. Worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Photo by ~~Jenn~~
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This pie set really well, but I changed just a couple of things. 1. I used 1 tbsp. of real butter to stir in just before pouring into crust to make it more silky. 2. I cooked the filling a little longer than 2 minutes, because it needed it. 3. I used 8 eggs whites for the meringue, because it needed more. Other than those minor things, it's perfect. First time I've EVER had a chocolate pie set well enough that it made clean slices and did not run into the pie plate. The flavor was really good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~~Jenn~~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Wonderful pie, my family raved about it. Only wish that there was more filling, may try a double recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Just made this yesterday and it came out beautifuly and so delicious! I did increase the cornstarch to 4 Tbs. and the egg yolks to 4. It set up just right and is so creamy, I'll definately use this as my Chocolate Meringue Pie recipe from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Living Well
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I read all the reviews and made it with 2 T butter and an extra 1/2 cup of milk as recommended - it was perfect!! I like it a touch more chocolatey- but then I like dark chocolate better than milk - so next time I may try a different kind of cocoa powder for fun - but the recipe is great if you add those two additional things! I think it really would have been too thick otherwise as it was perfect this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I made this today. I followed the recipe exactly & it turned out GREAT! First time making a meringue & the first time I ever heard my husband say "This is better than my mom used to make." about something I cooked. So I guess I'll be making it pretty often lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Flaherty, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I found this recipe on a different website, and not having the benefit of reading the reviews, I made the pie following the recipe exactly as stated. The pie did set up fine, but only after hours of cooling. My husband was so eager for a piece that he helped himself within 2 hours of the pie cooling on the countertop. Big mistake! A big soupy mess. I thought for sure I had a "pie fail" on my hands. However, after about 4-5 more hours of cooling, the rest of pie sliced up just fine. 3 TBS of cornstarch worked fine for me. However, I give just 4 stars because I didn't find the flavor to have much depth, the taste is reminiscent of JELL-O chocoate pudding, not a rich homemade creamy flavor that I would expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
No butter? I added a half stick butter, upped the sugar to 2 cups, added an additional egg yolk and one whole egg and used flour in place of cornstarch. I cooked it all over medium heat until it was thick and bubbly and then added the cocoa. Make sure your pie crusts are completely cool or that will result in a runny pie as well. I used 6 egg whites for the meringue and placed it under the broiler for a couple minutes with the oven door open so it wouldn't burn....you have to watch it VERY closely if you do this though. And make sure you "seal" the meringue on the edges or it will shrink. The pie set up nicely this way and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States