Mom's Chocolate Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This is really good and easy to make. Thanks Mary Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I thought it would be harder than it was. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Soooooo, so perfect! I reduced the sugar in the meringue by a couple tablespoons also (personal taste) and upped the cornstarch in the pudding by one tablespoon per past experiences with runny puddings/custards for pies. PERFECT. FRIENDLY TIP: per Smitten Kitchen and Joy of Cooking I discovered what happened once to an otherwise delicious pie we had to spoon into bowls to serve: the cornstarch bond CAN be delicate (a cooking mystery involving humidity and magic). Don't stir or move the custard too much once it's good and thick and starting to set. Don't set it aside for a second and let it start to set in the pan and THEN move it to crust, don't whisk it too vigorously after it's starting to set, etc. I learned the hard way: it was beautiful and thick and then I whisked one more time and set it aside while I whipped the meringue, then scraped it out into the pan and it turned back to LIQUID. I was dumbfounded and searched until I found that this CAN happen and this was why!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I made this twice for the holiday season trying to duplicate a pie my dad loves. The first time I made it as the recipe states, but it came out too gummy, not creamy like I wanted. People liked it, but I knew it could be much better. Second time I added an extra egg yolk to the mix and used 3 TB of cornstarch w/ 2 TB of flour. After the mix came to a boil I added 2 TB of butter. I threw the extra egg white in with the meringue, but that was just not to waste because the meringue is fine in this recipe. With those changes it really makes this pie five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Worked perfectly!!! I used 4 tb of cornstarch, and the custard was gorgeous - my Dad loved it!!! Thank you oh-so-much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mydawnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Made this for Christmas dinner. One bite and a guest said "Wow!". Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I loved this recipe. I have wanted to make a homemade chocolate pie for years but have never been successful with meringue. I took Katie's advise and followed the recipe as it is witten. I also made sure my pie crust was cooked ahead of time and cool. Then, before I made the filling, I made the meringue and set it aside....Everyone loved the pie, I was very proud of myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Oh Momma! My husband loves chocolate pie and always has his mother (who hates to make them) make him one for the holidays. I made this one for him after the Thanksgiving pie from his mother. He took one bite, picked up the phone, called his mother, and told her that she didn't have to make chocolate pies anymore. She was delighted and so was I. I used the Meringue II recipe instead of this meringue recipe and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by freakishej
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
OMG AMAZING! i used soymilk instead of milk, and it was sooo wonderful!!! i wasnt going to add more corn startch, and then i though maybe i should since soy milk is thiner then milk. then, i didnt have cream of tartar so i used 2 tbls lemon juice, unfortunatly when i was putting the meringue on top a dumped some on the floor lol! MOST delecious pie ever! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freakishej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was awesome! Really nice chocolate and the meringue was good too. Give it a try. You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States