Mom's Chocolate Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This turned out really well for me. I made it as written, no alterations are required! Smooth, creamy, old fashioned chocolate pie. The recipe is very similar to my grandmother's wartime chocolate pie. Ingredients weren't fancy, nor were they squandered. My pie filling was set 2 hours out of the oven, at room temperature. (Yes, I couldn't wait to test it! The rest was eaten chilled.) The crust was still warm when I poured in the filling, and I did not have runny filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Excellent! A big hit, everybody loved it. Has that wonderful old school cocoa flavor, great silky texture. I covered with plastic wrap laid right on hot filling then chilled a few hours. Served with fresh sweetened whipped cream instead of meringue. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabe
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe did not work for me. I worked so hard on trying to make this yummy pie in my new pie dish I got for Christmas. I did everything as said. The custard was very thick when I poured it in the baked pie crust ... After it came out of the oven it looked wonderful... The longer it cooled the more the meringue started to shrink on the top... I put it in the fridge to cool. Went to slice it after dinner and it was like water!!! It was chocolate soup with a crust!! My son and husband still slurped on it because it had good flavor but I was so incredibly disappointed .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by susanRN
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Very pretty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
My mother in law's mother used to make this pie for her but when she got Alzheimers she forgot how to make it. After reading all of the reviews I decided to give it a shot and my mother in law was so happy she nearly cried! It is the perfect chocolate meringue pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Just made this for Thanksgiving and WOW! I added one Tbls extra of cornstarch and one extra egg yolk like some reviews said and it came out perfect! Just have patience during the stirring step. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Bacon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Oh my gosh! I made this pie for the first time yesterday and had already mixed up the dry ingredients when I realized I didn't have any regular milk so I substituted canned milk instead. This pie tasted just like my dad's homemade hot chocolate, in which he also used canned milk, and brought back so many memories! I also added an extra egg yolk because I used a different meringue recipe that called for four egg whites and I didn't want to waste the yolk. In the end I forgot to add the vanilla but this pie was still every bit as delicious, decadent and just plain awesome. Looking forward to making another one soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I have been looking for a milk chocolate pie recipe and ran across this one. My grandmother use to make the best. My mother has been asking me to make a chocolate pie for a while. I tried this one today, I did make a minor adjustment. I used 4 tablespoons of cornstarch and I cooked it on top of the stove until thicken. The is a great recipe, you can't rush it. cook it with love!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I made this exactly as written and it turned out wonderfully. I did make a slight change but it didn't affect the outcome of the filling, I used Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa instead of regular cocoa. I made peanut butter ice cream to go with this and desert was wonderful. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States