Mom's Chocolate Chip Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
These are really good! My mom made something like this once when I was growing up so I was happy to find this recipe! I've seen others but they had more steps and the recipe my mom used is more like this one. Yum yum! They are a little crumbly when you bite into them so they make lots of crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This was the first meringue recipe I ever tried, and once my dad reminded me after my first attempt that you are supposed to use room-temperature eggs it turned out great! But as someone mentioned, I think it is a little too sweet. I think either removing some of the sugar or the chocolate chips would make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
My oven's tempurature settings are a bit finicky and I think that came into play here. The cookies didn't quite puff up like they are supposed to, but they still tasted great. Very easy recipe (and almost always follows a dinner where I am using hollandaise sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
The recipe came out fine but it was too sweet for me so next time I'll reduce the amount of sugar used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is an interesting cookie to include in my Christmas Cookie tins. I like it because it's different and I got a lot of compliments on it. Next time I will tint the mixture for the holidays - oh, and I like the idea of using them as ghosts for halloween and just using the mini chips for eyes. I left them in the oven overnight and they really did turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Easy and really good. Hey, Chris, you turn the oven off!!! I left them overnight and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These cookies were awesome!!!! I took them to a church dinner and everyone loved them. They were so good I was asked to make them for our church cookie sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I baked the cookies at 350 like the recipe stated - after 1 hour they were burned. I cannot imagine what they would look like after 4 hours. These cookies need to be baked at 200 degrees or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is the first meringue recipe that Ever worked for me! These were so great. I can't wait to make more now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
My mom always made meringue cookies when I was a kid...these worked great to make little ghosts for our Halloween party. I left out the choc. chips and just used them for eyes. Very cute and yummy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States