Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I've used this recipe for years and everybody wants the recipe for it. I never give the recipe out because I've never seen a cookie recipe that calls for pudding before so I sort of consider it the secret ingredient of my signature cookie recipe. I always use Butter Flavor Crisco and a whole bag of chips. This recipe is easy to vary into peanut butter by using 1/2 c crisco and 1 c pb. You can make it into oatmeal cookies by using only 1 and 1/4 c of flour and 3 c of old fashioned oats. Or spice it up and use chocolate pudding and vanilla chips or peanut butter chips. Just have fun with this recipe. There are soooo many possibilities!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
407 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarajo614

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
These were so delicious. Made mine a little more moist by totally melting butter, adding 2+ tablespoons milk, and left out about 1 Tbsp pudding mix; also added chopped walnuts and about 1/2 teaspoon more vanilla extract; best if dropped, not flattened (tried both); when dropped, yields cookie with a slight crunch as you bite into it, but then the middle just melts in your mouth; yes, the center is somewhat cake-like (per vanilla pudding mix), but that's what makes this cookie so good/different--- it's a thick, but moist cookie (not flat and crunchy or flat and gooey or thick and dry)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Well, these cookies I have to say were the best chocolate chip cookies Ive ever had/made. I took them to my church's prayer meeting, and they all loved them. I did take the advice of the viewers and added 1/4 tsp of salt, and I used NESTLE semi-sweet chocolate chunks instead of chips. Man they were AWESOME. Definitely cook them for 10 mins, and they are so soft!!!Update: Ive made these quite a few times, and I tried it with just one stick of butter, and, they are still just as good, and deliciously soft without all the fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Pudding really is the miracle worker here. I made one minor adjustment... used CHEESECAKE flavored pudding instead of vanilla. Result? Cookies that people would throw punches over. Mine did not spread at all; very puffy. They look lovely! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was so easy. And they turned out so well. I used half butter, half margerine to prevent spreading and I refrigerated the dough to firm it up just a couple hours. Great cookie! EDITED MANY MONTHS LATER: I've been making these lately with instant cheesecake pudding and M&M's of any variety. (My husband likes the peanut butter, I like the dark chocolate.) With the cheesecake pudding, these are better than sex. Much better than Mrs. Fields or Tollhouse, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Mmmmmmmmmm.......this is one SUPERB cookie! I didn't have vanilla pudding, so I subbed with toasted coconut flavor instead. Threw in 1/4 c. sweetened, flaked coconut & followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Even my finicky boss was impressed. Only regret was how fast they disappeared (I have 2 teenage boys in the house). Changing the pudding or chip flavors enables limitless varities.........THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Okay, neither my husband nor I liked these cookies at all. THey were way to sweet and cakey like. Oh and they didn't turn out anything like the picture either--much thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North East, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
No question about it! These are to die for! Wonderfully moist even days later (if I remember to hide a few from my cookie loving husband)! Add extra choc chips and don't be afraid to substitute different kinds of pudding/chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
These cookies were nice and soft and cakey, and they stayed that way for over a week! I consider that to be a pretty good trade off for the slight aftertaste that the instant pudding gave them. If you are making cookies for the purpose of eating raw cookie dough, (ahem) I would skip this recipe. It didn't taste good raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I thought these cookies turned out pretty well. I used butterscotch pudding and added a little bit of salt. They are very moist I thought they had a nice butter flavor. I would probably make these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 872) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States