Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
These were FANTASTIC. I am pregnant and out of no where had a craving for chocolate chip cookies. I chose this recipe for the title & didn't want a pumpkin or peanut butter taste...but the vanilla pudding mix sounded like a great idea. After going to the store to get the rest of the ingredients & preparing this recipe to nearly a T (i completely melted the butter) these cookies came out PERFECT. At first, i baked them at 375F for 11 minutes, but found they were borderline burnt (but tasted fine) so i changed it to 9 minutes and they were perfect. (my batch was a bit thick) These were so tasty & soft. They did not spread or become flat but rather went straight up to create a kind of tall cluster choco chip cookies which i loved. Definitely going into my recipe book!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
just made these tonight and they are soooo delicious. never heard of a recipe that called for vanilla pudding before but it turned out great! thank you so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
It ried this recipe with a few changes and they were YUMMY! Not too sweet and simple to make. I used a good tablespoon of creamy peanut butter melted in replace of the pudding but everything was the same. I agree with one commenter...you need to pull them out of the oven when they have just a line of brown on the edges. Especially if you want chewy soft cookies. A tad longer (without burning the bottoms)for crispy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaintMartha

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. The pudding made it taste like cake in a way, and the only thing that gave the cookies its sweetnes was the chocolate chips inside the cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Just baked these for the first time, and I think they are pretty darn good. Even after I made the mistake of melting my butter when trying to soften it up for creaming. lol I didn't have vanilla pudding mix, so I used pistachio pudding mix instead. Added extra vanilla extract and a tiny bit of almond extract as well. And i added a dash of salt. Cant wait to try different variations of pudding mix and chocolate chips!!! This recipe has been added to my recipe box!!! Edit: I tried these with lemon pudding and white chocolate chips... FANTASTIC!!!! my nieces demanded I make them a batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I have been looking for a great Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe for years and I can now stop. This cookie is fabulous! I added about a 1/2 tsp salt and a little more flour. The cookies were thick and tasted like pillows of heaven. Tollhouse who?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
The reviews of this cookie are very accurate. The cookies are more dry and more cakey than I would have liked, but if I'd read all of the reviews first, I would have known that. For the type of cookie it is (again, according to the reviews), they came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I really enjoyed these cookies. The recipe was easy and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Made exactly as the recipe listed and they were phenomenal. Anyone familiar with Publix chocolate chip cookies, these are it! As someone who grew up with Publix but now lives in a part of the country w/o them, I miss their cookies! I have been searching for a recipe to recreate them and this is very very close. I used Semi-sweet chocolate chips (a 12 oz bag), and a small cookie scooper and hand made a few. They do not spread very much with the scooper, so they came out looking like chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream scoops, still good and made nice little hand held snacks for people. The hand made ones were larger and flatter, and these tasted just like the Publix cookies I mentioned earlier. It made about 50 smaller cookies (about an inch across full cooked), and about 10 larger cookies (about 3 to 4 inches across fully cooked), so this recipe will make A LOT of cookies! They also stayed really well for up to 4 days, unlike some other cookies that turn to concrete 24 hours after baking, in a paper towel lined tupperware container. I have read some other reviews suggesting to make it with various other flavors of pudding mix, and I may try a few of those, but the fact they taste so much like my coveted Publix cookie, I doubt I will mess with this recipe much. Def recommend and will make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarag6181
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I used chocolate pudding mix and only had half a bag of mini chocolate chips but it was the perfect amount. I also had some marshmallows I wanted to use up so after 10 minutes in the oven I put half a large marshmallow on top of each cookie and put them back in the oven for another 2 minutes. After the marshmallows softened I pushed them down so that it would spread across the cookie. These are DELICIOUS--especially while the marshmallow is still warm and gooey!! I have been trying a lot of different recipes trying to find one that reminds me of hot chocolate and this is it. These cookies have now found a permament rotation in my cookie collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 889) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States