Mom's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Nice recipe - deep, dark chocolate and good and moist. I added 1/2 tsp. salt to make the flavors "come alive." That addition, along with the coffee, ensured a very chocolatey chocolate cake. Baked this as cupcakes, about 20 minutes. I would not hesitate making this again - very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
The BEST chocolate cake, period. We used Caroline's Chocolate Fudge frosting as a topping and it turned out awesome. Next, we'll make this into cupcakes... so rich and delicious. Can't taste the coffee... but whatever it does, it worked! Highly recmmended! UPDATE: We made these into cupcakes... actually used half-recipe, and it made enough for 1 full pan of cupcakes. Cooked for about 15 minutes or so... they came out P-E-R-F-E-C-T. Didn't top them with anything, as they were very rich and delicious as they were. It's so cool to say you made something so good from 'scratch.' Of course the guys at the poker table look at you kinda funny when you tell them that... but that's their issue, not mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess-and-dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
I make this Chocolate Cake often, and get tons of complements and request for the recipe. I worked in a Bakery for almost 9yrs. and I have to say, I know cakes and this one is awesome!!! Tip- Best baked in a Glass Cake Pan. Make it soon, you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This recipe is completely unsuitable for cupcakes, which is rather misleading considering the photo shows cupcakes. They didn't raise correctly (and I didn't open then oven) and the coffee flavor seems to somehow create an intensified burnt flavor at the bottom of each cupcake. Oh and the liners could not be pulled off without destroying the whole cupcake. So while this make work in layer cake form, its unsuitable for cupcakes and seems to be a generally unstable recipe. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
HOLY ! This recipe Rocks!!!! super easy to make and yum yum yum. i frosted mine w/ homemade cream cheese frosting. and now im off for my 3rd piece....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This cake turned out perfectly...although it took longer to bake than 30-35 min. I was worried the outer edges would get too baked before the middle did...so I lowered the temp to 325f and cooked for 20 min or so longer and perfect! I topped with a cream cheese frosting(not from this site) and it was amazing. The cake is not very sweet so a rich frosting makes it wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Wonderful recipe. Where we live, cake mixes are very expensive and so this is a great, quick way to have cake. It's not too sweet, so it's very versatile. Put frosting on it to make it more sweet or just sprinkle powdered sugar on it to make it more "coffee cake" like. I've made this many times and usually am asked who brought me a cake mix from the States! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRISTITA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Very good cake!, easy and tasty, or in my son's way: Yummy yummy! I used frosted it with the Chocolate Cheese frosting and it turned out great, we made it at night, and had it for breakfast, really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I made this chocolate cake in Colorado, and attempted to make it into cupcakes. It was edible, but didn't raise right, fell in the middle of each cupcake as well as in the middle of the square cake (made with the leftover batter). It did have an unusual flavor from the coffee, but I would definately add more flour if you are in a high-altitude area. I probably won't attempt this recipe again, thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kimble

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
wow! what a delicious cake, i made 36 cupcakes and they came out perfect,also i made a 2 layer 9" cake with peanutbutter icing,and today i'm making a 13x9"cake with a homemade cornstartch pudding on top. this recipe is very versitile and our new family favorite.our daughter and i make it all the time. happy baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States