Mom's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2000
The submitter is right, this is the best chocolate cake I have ever had, or made. It has a great moist crumb and is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2000
An excellent chocalate cake. Very easy and fairly quick to make. My kids absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2000
Excellent chocolate cake! Light, fluffy, & moist. Not too rich or bitter, yet not too sweet. It got rave reviews at my house and I will definitely be baking it again! I used 2 9" pans to make a layer cake. p.s. please suggest a good chocolate frosting to complement this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2000
my family and i really love this oh so delicious and moist chocolate cake. i made this for my husband's birthday and they just went wild with it. Easy to make and not very sweet...thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
This cake baked up moist and delicious. It was pretty easy, too. I may never buy cake mix again. I'm not quite sure what the coffee did, but hey, it worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKAESIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This cake has wonderful flavor. I will definately make it again. I made it into two 9 inch round but I may have filled them too high, I had a spillage problem. I made a layer cake with chocolate frosting. I put a coconut almond mixture between the layers and pressed the mixture along the sides. It made it look REALLY pretty. Thanks a bunch, a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This is a wonderful chocolate cake! Moist and fluffy; we don't even frost it and it gets gobbled up quickly. Hits the spot when you need a chocolate fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUAREONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Trail, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
This recipe did not come out well at all. The cake fell apart and was not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
I just made it today a couple of hours ago. It is delicious!!! I made the 13x9 like the recipe. I dont think I waited long enough to get 2 pieces (Ummm-couldnt stop at one), so it came out a little crumbly but it sure is good!! I cook with droste cocoa and I think that makes it just a little richer still. This would be good enough to take to a potluck. It will be interesting to see how long this cake lasts around here plus it will be nice to have something yummy and somewhat wholesome with my lunch at work. It will be a popular recipe with all us chocolate cravers here!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This cake is really nice. It has a nice height to it. The ingredients are simple, and the cake has a very nice crumb. The top bakes up with a crispy sweet coat. My batter seemed quite thin, and I wound up baking the cake for an hour instead of the 30-35 minutes suggested. We ate it plain, but to give it an extra kick frosting it would be scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States