Mom's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This is the best chocolate cake i ever made from scratch and the so easy all in one bowl method. On the down side no one will accept Mr Duncan Hines anymore!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Because there are only two of us and we were craving chocolate cake I was looking for a "scratch" recipe that I could cut in half. This was it! A delicious cake with great flavor and texture! Will definitely make again.....often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Unfortunately I tried to bake this in a glass loaf pan which turned out to be too small, and the cake rose too high, didn't cook all the way through and then sank. So when it was finally done it was burnt on top and gummy at the bottom. It was still pretty good, though, so I'm going to try again and then maybe change my rating based on how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
amazing flavour, deep rich chocolate taste with a hint of coffee, yumm... For me, it didn't rise but this could have been easily my fault. maybe i mixed too much, or delayed putting it in the oven, i don't know. however, this is a way better cake then any other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This recipe was so easy and turned out beautifully! I wanted a recipe that I could use to show my teenage son how easy it to bake a cake WITHOUT a instant mix and this recipe was the ticket. We baked it in a lasagna pan because we don't have cake pans and it was done in 35 minutes. We also used butter instead of shortening and it was moist and very yummy! It was great with homemade chocolate icing and there is none of the cake left as I write this review! My son won't be asking me to pick up a cake mix anymore!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This Chocolate cake recipe was WONDERFUL! I've never made such a moist cake until now. I wanted to keep the cake light, so instead of icing, I sprinkled powdered sugar on top. The batter was not as thick as I was used too, but it was not a problem. The only adjustment I had to make was the baking time. I ended up baking it for about 45 minutes. This recipe is a keeper! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Wonderful recipe. The cake was moist and delicious. I used butter instead of shortening though as my hubby likes his cakes rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
I make this Chocolate Cake often, and get tons of complements and request for the recipe. I worked in a Bakery for almost 9yrs. and I have to say, I know cakes and this one is awesome!!! Tip- Best baked in a Glass Cake Pan. Make it soon, you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This cake is really nice. It has a nice height to it. The ingredients are simple, and the cake has a very nice crumb. The top bakes up with a crispy sweet coat. My batter seemed quite thin, and I wound up baking the cake for an hour instead of the 30-35 minutes suggested. We ate it plain, but to give it an extra kick frosting it would be scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
I just made it today a couple of hours ago. It is delicious!!! I made the 13x9 like the recipe. I dont think I waited long enough to get 2 pieces (Ummm-couldnt stop at one), so it came out a little crumbly but it sure is good!! I cook with droste cocoa and I think that makes it just a little richer still. This would be good enough to take to a potluck. It will be interesting to see how long this cake lasts around here plus it will be nice to have something yummy and somewhat wholesome with my lunch at work. It will be a popular recipe with all us chocolate cravers here!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States