Mom's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
The BEST chocolate cake, period. We used Caroline's Chocolate Fudge frosting as a topping and it turned out awesome. Next, we'll make this into cupcakes... so rich and delicious. Can't taste the coffee... but whatever it does, it worked! Highly recmmended! UPDATE: We made these into cupcakes... actually used half-recipe, and it made enough for 1 full pan of cupcakes. Cooked for about 15 minutes or so... they came out P-E-R-F-E-C-T. Didn't top them with anything, as they were very rich and delicious as they were. It's so cool to say you made something so good from 'scratch.' Of course the guys at the poker table look at you kinda funny when you tell them that... but that's their issue, not mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess-and-dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This cake turned out perfectly...although it took longer to bake than 30-35 min. I was worried the outer edges would get too baked before the middle did...so I lowered the temp to 325f and cooked for 20 min or so longer and perfect! I topped with a cream cheese frosting(not from this site) and it was amazing. The cake is not very sweet so a rich frosting makes it wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I made this chocolate cake in Colorado, and attempted to make it into cupcakes. It was edible, but didn't raise right, fell in the middle of each cupcake as well as in the middle of the square cake (made with the leftover batter). It did have an unusual flavor from the coffee, but I would definately add more flour if you are in a high-altitude area. I probably won't attempt this recipe again, thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeaceLoveJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
awesome cake the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRISTITA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Very good cake!, easy and tasty, or in my son's way: Yummy yummy! I used frosted it with the Chocolate Cheese frosting and it turned out great, we made it at night, and had it for breakfast, really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Excellent recipe. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Very moist and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
HOLY ! This recipe Rocks!!!! super easy to make and yum yum yum. i frosted mine w/ homemade cream cheese frosting. and now im off for my 3rd piece....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This is the best chocolate cake i ever made from scratch and the so easy all in one bowl method. On the down side no one will accept Mr Duncan Hines anymore!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Because there are only two of us and we were craving chocolate cake I was looking for a "scratch" recipe that I could cut in half. This was it! A delicious cake with great flavor and texture! Will definitely make again.....often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States