Mom's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
The best chocolate cake I have ever had... WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Gullino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherryvale, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I cook a lot, but never had much luck homemade deserts...until now. This was excellent. I made it for my daughter's birthday and she loves it. It rose really high, wasn't too sweet. Turned out really well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Very quick and easy. Made a few changes - used a round 8 inch cake tin and had to bake for 1hr 10min, and used 1/2 cup boiling water and 1/2 cup Tia Maria in place of coffee. It rose well, was moist and tasted great. Next time I'll split it and fill it with raspberries and cream but this time I didn't ice it, it great as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
My daughter has gestational diabeties so I tried this recipe using splenda and it exceeded my expectations for a sugar free cake. I am looking forward to the next time I make this using regular white sugar after the baby is born. Thanks for sharing your mom's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Absolutely delicious! I used a cocoa frosting for an extra chocolate boost. Baking time closer to 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Very moist, super easy cake. If your ever in a hurry and need a quick dessert to whip up this is the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Onoway, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Fantastic, moist, not too sweet and smells absolutely wonderful. Dusting it lightly with powdered sugar is also fine, so icing wasn't so important to us (less fat/calories). My family loves this cake, so it's a definite keeper. BTW, for those Americans who live in Germany: the closest I can get to having American all-purpose flour is sifting together 1 cup 405 flour and 1 cup 550 flour (or a 50/50 ratio for other recipes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This cake was very good, but it just wasn't the best I had. I was expecting more coffee taste, and I didn't taste it at all. I made the recipe exactly as written. I did frost it with vanilla frosting also. It was moist, rose up nicely and was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I halved the recipe and used a loaf pan, and it still turned out perfectly. Very light and moist! Will make again and again. Oh, I also used instant coffee and it worked/tasted just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBA21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Wonderful recipe. Where we live, cake mixes are very expensive and so this is a great, quick way to have cake. It's not too sweet, so it's very versatile. Put frosting on it to make it more sweet or just sprinkle powdered sugar on it to make it more "coffee cake" like. I've made this many times and usually am asked who brought me a cake mix from the States! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States