Mom's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Nice recipe - deep, dark chocolate and good and moist. I added 1/2 tsp. salt to make the flavors "come alive." That addition, along with the coffee, ensured a very chocolatey chocolate cake. Baked this as cupcakes, about 20 minutes. I would not hesitate making this again - very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I did not care for this! It says to put in a 9x13 pan...DO NOT do this!!!It overflowed all over into my oven. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Lambert Nicks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Curtis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
wow! what a delicious cake, i made 36 cupcakes and they came out perfect,also i made a 2 layer 9" cake with peanutbutter icing,and today i'm making a 13x9"cake with a homemade cornstartch pudding on top. this recipe is very versitile and our new family favorite.our daughter and i make it all the time. happy baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I think you left something out of the recipe, namely SALT!!! I just made this and yes, it did rise up fluffy but it's taste was lacking. I looked up Hersey's recipe and their's has salt. Sorry, but this is NOT the world's best chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I rarely give a low rating, but there is a problem w/ this recipe - it has way too much liquid in it - batter is runny and overflows in two 9 inch cake pans. Cake doesn't rise and can't be removed from pan. We ended up w/ crumbs. The good part is they tasted great! We had them w/ ice cream on top so it didn't go to waste. I wouldn't try this recipe w/o significant adjustments - such as using 1/2 cup of milk - i like the coffee in it and the taste is great, but it needs a major makeover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This cake was awesome! It was so easy to make! I was very worried about the coffee, because my husband does not like coffee, but he couldn't taste it at all. I already have requests to make it again. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This cake is delicious. I felt the middle kind of bubbled a little bit, don't know why, kind of a rectangular pattern in the center. It didn't fall. It was very moist and I used a powdered sugar, melted butter recipe that I got on All Recipes. It tastes like homemade fudge. I would definitely make this cake again. The coffee enhanced the flavor of the cake and cut the sweetness of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made this for my niece's birthday and everyone loved it. The cake was very dense but very chocolately. I followed the suggestion about getting the best coco available. I will make this again and again! I used buttercream icing but I may just sprinkle powdered sugar on it next time if I do it as a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was a wonderful find! My mom has high cholesterol and I wanted to make a birthday cake she could enjoy - and not only did she like it, but the whole family too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Like some other reviewers said, mine didn't rise properly. I made it as cupcakes, and they all caved in the middle. I also couldn't get them off the paper lining, they fell apart when I tried. The taste was nothing special, but seeing as I used half whole wheat flour and half regular, I won't rate based on that. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States