Mom's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
couldn't find ranch style so went with chili beans and added 1 cup of elbow macaroni. Easy recipe that even my youngest liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This is a Sunday football favorite around my house. For a basic chili recipe, this is pretty good. It's a good foundation to start with. I like a little spank in my chili, so I used a can of Mexican-style tomato sauce instead of the water. Water is just too blah. For some contrast, and because I love them, I added a can of rinsed black beans to the mix. It's hard to mess this dish up, even with a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was great for a spicy chili with no effort. I only had a half onion and a can of Rotel that had cilantro and lime. I used chili seasoning II for this (only half of what it made, cutting the red pepper down to a third in that), and I only used half the can of Ro-tel and used up the other half can of petite diced tomatoes I opened from yesterday's meal. I added a can of beef consomme instead of water. This turned out thick and spicy and had quite a kick to it even with me cutting the Ro-Tel in half. I actually made a box of mac and cheese and then added the chili it and made chili mac with this. We topped it with sour cream and it was delicious and very filling. My husband was happy to have leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for a good chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Very good easy recipe, with room for flexibility as noted with other reviews. For me, I used a fresh chopped tomato and an extra can of beans. I didn't use any green chilis though, I made it an option. Next time I'll add some green chili's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I love this recipe! It's wonderful as-is and is also a good base recipe if you want to experiment with spices and vegetables. I'm pretty picky with my opinion on what makes a good chili and have never been disappointed in this one. It's now my fall tradition - I make it on the first chilly (ha!) day of the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I love this recipe, more over my picky kids love it. The recipe is so simple and tastes great as is but it leaves room for you to add too your heart's desire and still not mess it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Safiya1107

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I absolutely love chili and didn't know how to make it. I stumbled upon this recipe and decided to try it. I did it exactly the way it was written with the exception of adding three minced garlic. My daughter and son who do not care for anything like a soup loved it. They wanted seconds. Ate the chili with cornbread. I will make this regularly since I know how to now. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
from Yankee Mom. We make these additions and make 2 pots at once. Add 1 lb more ground beef. Add 1lb ground turkey. Add more beans along with juice - kidney beans, chili beans, pinto beans. Celery (Sliced or chopped). Add more of any of the originally listed ingredients. Makes thicker more hearty soup. Cook up several pots at one time... it is dandy from the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
this was easy to throw together with stuff i already had on hand. i did add some minced garlic and rooster sauce after i tasted it. this was better after it simmered on the stove all afternoon. i increased this to 12 servings and ended up with a big pot full. very quick and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I make this recipe all the time, and everybody loves it! Goes great with some home-made corn bread, which you can find on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States