Mom's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ed Stevenson
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I think this recipe is simple n easy. I added mushrooms n some other meats n its awesome.Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Stevenson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I didn't use the beans because my daughter isn't a fan of beans but we LOVE this recipe. I made it yesterday and it was requested today as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This was excellent with no changes. Served with hot fresh bread. Can't get much better than that!! Perfect for cold nights
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lin-DUH
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
For the ease of preparation and overall taste, I definitely give this chili five stars. It's easily customizable; for example, I added Johnsonville Italian sausage (I used mild because that's what I had, but I think hot would have been fabulous as well), and it really kicked the flavor up a notch. Thanks for a wonderful fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Good base recipe with some modifications. We add beer and cocoa powder gives a nice rich earthy flavor. Love pinto and kidney beans and turkey love a nice hearty veggi chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Lynn Porter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
couldn't find ranch style so went with chili beans and added 1 cup of elbow macaroni. Easy recipe that even my youngest liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This is a Sunday football favorite around my house. For a basic chili recipe, this is pretty good. It's a good foundation to start with. I like a little spank in my chili, so I used a can of Mexican-style tomato sauce instead of the water. Water is just too blah. For some contrast, and because I love them, I added a can of rinsed black beans to the mix. It's hard to mess this dish up, even with a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was great for a spicy chili with no effort. I only had a half onion and a can of Rotel that had cilantro and lime. I used chili seasoning II for this (only half of what it made, cutting the red pepper down to a third in that), and I only used half the can of Ro-tel and used up the other half can of petite diced tomatoes I opened from yesterday's meal. I added a can of beef consomme instead of water. This turned out thick and spicy and had quite a kick to it even with me cutting the Ro-Tel in half. I actually made a box of mac and cheese and then added the chili it and made chili mac with this. We topped it with sour cream and it was delicious and very filling. My husband was happy to have leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for a good chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Very good easy recipe, with room for flexibility as noted with other reviews. For me, I used a fresh chopped tomato and an extra can of beans. I didn't use any green chilis though, I made it an option. Next time I'll add some green chili's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I love this recipe! It's wonderful as-is and is also a good base recipe if you want to experiment with spices and vegetables. I'm pretty picky with my opinion on what makes a good chili and have never been disappointed in this one. It's now my fall tradition - I make it on the first chilly (ha!) day of the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States