Mom's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
wonderful tangy change for a chicken dish. though I made a few subtle changes. first I used chicken breast cut into large strips, pre cooked them, didnt have plum jam, so used rasberry instead, all other ingredients were the same, but upon reading other reviews, I added 1/2 a cup of water to the sauce mix put all into 9x13 dish sealed with foil then into the oven. after 45 mins then added 1 Tbsp of cornstarch mixed with a little water into the sauce. Family went crazy over this one, including fussy daughter, DH got pouty cause daughters BF cleaned up the leftovers. Thanks Liza this ones a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This recipe is the bomb! So easy yet, delish! Used boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of chicken pieces. Adjust cooking time accordingly (30 - 40 mins). Thanks, Liza for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This was awesome! I made it in the crocpot and used Grape Jelly instead of the plum. don't listen to the 2 bad reviews. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
First - I LOVE the fact that this has 4 ingrediants (that you ussually have around your house!!). Second - it is very good. I too used raspberry jam instead of plum (it was all I had) with very good results and used 5 whole chicken breast halves instead of peices. My ONLY complaint: the onions in the soup mix are still hard even after the chicken is done (Not enough "liquid" to make them soft?) - so they were scraped off the chicken. Overall - very tasty and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
I too used raspberry jam since it was all I had. Definately adjust cooking time for boneless breasts, I didn't and not only were they fairly dry but most of the sauce had cooked away since there was no fat from the chicken. But even so they were still good. I can't wait to make them again to see how they are when cooked correctly. Even my mom who hates barbeque sauce had some and liked it. She said they taste more like teriyaki than barbeque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
LOVED THIS RECIPE!! It really needs more stars! It was simple!! My family literally "ate" this one up! I cooked frozen noodles in the chicken broth and homemade mashed potatos, it was awesome! Even my very picky 15 mos. old "snarffed" it up!! It's a keeper in this family. Next time I will try "playing" with different ingredents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYBOLTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This dish was very yummy! I used boneless chicken breast and strawberry jam as all I had in my house. I cooked the chicken for 40 minutes in the oven and I also put 1/4 cup water in the mixture as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I thought this dish was fantastic. I used blueberry preserves instead of plum and made the sauce 2 hours prior to baking so the onions would be soft. You could remove the skin as suggested but it may dry the meat out. Try covering the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Wenzel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
very easy and very good. i couldn't find any plum jam so i used grape jam instead and it tasted wonderful. next time i think i would remove the skin from the chicken (except the legs/wings) because the skin on the breast didn't seem to get crispy at all and i ended up pulling it off before eating it. the remainder suace that was in the pan i put in to a gravy boat and it was wonderful poured over the chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
My family loved it, but me I couldn't eat it. I followed the recipe but it was just too much barbeque sauce for my liking! So I will give it a high rating cause I was out numbered...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States