Mom's Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I sauteed about 1/2 cup of chopped celery along with the onion and made this using fresh carrots and skipped the peas and potatoes because I was out. I have an onion hater in the house so I grated the onion using my microplane zester. Worked like a charm - he didn't detect the onions and I got the flavor I wanted! I chose fresh carrots because in my experience the canned vegetables seem to be mushy and fresh is best in my house. I really like store rotisserie chicken and using that cut down on time of having to cook it yourself. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of sage for a little more flavor. I used chicken broth called for but I highly recommend using chicken stock. It is deeper in color and flavor. I thought this tasted ok. My husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
It was delish!!!! :) I made it gluten free and it was awesome:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Came out absolutely perfect. Winter comfort food. If you're not too bothered about calories you should try this: I dismissed the milk and the chicken broth and instead added a can of Campbell's condensed chicken soup with a cup of water, the mixture was thick and creamy and even more chickeny! Really nice touch. This pie lasted me and my boyfriend dinner and 2 lunches for work the next day! I will definitely be making this again and inviting people over to try :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Fantastic recipe! I was looking for something to do with my leftover turkey. I made my own crust, used turkey, frozen peas and carrots, and raw potato instead of the suggested recipe ingredients. I also cooked mine 40 minutes and let it set 15 minutes. It turned out perfect. I will make this again with leftover chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Just made this tonight with a few small modifications. I used a bag of frozen mixed veggies and I cut up Russett potatoes instead of the ones from the can. My husband said it was the best pot pie I've made yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I mainly used this for a sauce base. Used all fresh veggies steamed in the microwave and crust made from biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I was a little hesitant to try this because it was all canned ingredients, but decided to give it a go because I was feeling lazy. It was so good! My husband said it was the best chicken pot pie he ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
The taste was awesome. However, it was too liquid. I used fresh vegetables (carrots, sweet potato, and green beans), and substituted about half of the butter with olive oil. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. I do not know if this was a factor. Next time I will try less liquid to start. And there will be a next time as both my wife and 7 yr old love the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Okay- I used fresh carrots, peas and potatoes. This was awesome. Hubby is on his 3rd serving, must be good.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Do yourself a favor and boil your fresh potatoes and carrots with your chicken the day before. Extra yummy after being refrigerated overnight. I did use canned peas. I didn't use celery but if I had read the reviews first, I would have. Really good idea and I'll do that next time. This is a delicious recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States