Mom's Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I sauteed about 1/2 cup of chopped celery along with the onion and made this using fresh carrots and skipped the peas and potatoes because I was out. I have an onion hater in the house so I grated the onion using my microplane zester. Worked like a charm - he didn't detect the onions and I got the flavor I wanted! I chose fresh carrots because in my experience the canned vegetables seem to be mushy and fresh is best in my house. I really like store rotisserie chicken and using that cut down on time of having to cook it yourself. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of sage for a little more flavor. I used chicken broth called for but I highly recommend using chicken stock. It is deeper in color and flavor. I thought this tasted ok. My husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Came out absolutely perfect. Winter comfort food. If you're not too bothered about calories you should try this: I dismissed the milk and the chicken broth and instead added a can of Campbell's condensed chicken soup with a cup of water, the mixture was thick and creamy and even more chickeny! Really nice touch. This pie lasted me and my boyfriend dinner and 2 lunches for work the next day! I will definitely be making this again and inviting people over to try :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
It was delish!!!! :) I made it gluten free and it was awesome:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Just made this tonight with a few small modifications. I used a bag of frozen mixed veggies and I cut up Russett potatoes instead of the ones from the can. My husband said it was the best pot pie I've made yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
GREAT,GREAT,GREAT, & Easy and I like easy making it again tonight, this time my family said to make everything but the crust & we will just put it over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Easy. Excellent. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was by far the BEST chicken pot pie I have ever made! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This was the easiest chicken pot pie I have ever made. My family really loves this. I did not have any canned carrots so when I boiled the chicken breast I added carrots to the water along with some chicken base. I also cubed a couple of potatoes as well and boiled with chicken and carrots. For the chicken stock I used the water I boiled chicken in.. Was outstanding.. Will definitely make again and again.. I use the sauce recipe for the gravy in my chicken and noodles.. Thank you Samantha for sharing this wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Fantastic recipe! I was looking for something to do with my leftover turkey. I made my own crust, used turkey, frozen peas and carrots, and raw potato instead of the suggested recipe ingredients. I also cooked mine 40 minutes and let it set 15 minutes. It turned out perfect. I will make this again with leftover chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I mainly used this for a sauce base. Used all fresh veggies steamed in the microwave and crust made from biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States