Mom's Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I sauteed about 1/2 cup of chopped celery along with the onion and made this using fresh carrots and skipped the peas and potatoes because I was out. I have an onion hater in the house so I grated the onion using my microplane zester. Worked like a charm - he didn't detect the onions and I got the flavor I wanted! I chose fresh carrots because in my experience the canned vegetables seem to be mushy and fresh is best in my house. I really like store rotisserie chicken and using that cut down on time of having to cook it yourself. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of sage for a little more flavor. I used chicken broth called for but I highly recommend using chicken stock. It is deeper in color and flavor. I thought this tasted ok. My husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Came out absolutely perfect. Winter comfort food. If you're not too bothered about calories you should try this: I dismissed the milk and the chicken broth and instead added a can of Campbell's condensed chicken soup with a cup of water, the mixture was thick and creamy and even more chickeny! Really nice touch. This pie lasted me and my boyfriend dinner and 2 lunches for work the next day! I will definitely be making this again and inviting people over to try :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
It was delish!!!! :) I made it gluten free and it was awesome:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Just made this tonight with a few small modifications. I used a bag of frozen mixed veggies and I cut up Russett potatoes instead of the ones from the can. My husband said it was the best pot pie I've made yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
GREAT,GREAT,GREAT, & Easy and I like easy making it again tonight, this time my family said to make everything but the crust & we will just put it over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Easy. Excellent. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was by far the BEST chicken pot pie I have ever made! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This was the easiest chicken pot pie I have ever made. My family really loves this. I did not have any canned carrots so when I boiled the chicken breast I added carrots to the water along with some chicken base. I also cubed a couple of potatoes as well and boiled with chicken and carrots. For the chicken stock I used the water I boiled chicken in.. Was outstanding.. Will definitely make again and again.. I use the sauce recipe for the gravy in my chicken and noodles.. Thank you Samantha for sharing this wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Fantastic recipe! I was looking for something to do with my leftover turkey. I made my own crust, used turkey, frozen peas and carrots, and raw potato instead of the suggested recipe ingredients. I also cooked mine 40 minutes and let it set 15 minutes. It turned out perfect. I will make this again with leftover chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I mainly used this for a sauce base. Used all fresh veggies steamed in the microwave and crust made from biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States