Mom's Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I really wanted the recipe to be absolutely great, sadly it wasn't. I was quite surprised after reading the other reviews. It was because of the reviews I decided to try it. That and also the fact that it required only 3 packs of cream cheese rather than 4 like most others. Perhaps its because I live at a high altitude but... It was flat, sank as low as it could. And although it didnt crack, it did have a strange artificial taste to it. My family didn't like it. Plus the recipe directs you to make far too little graham cracker crust. I’ll just have to try another recipe, But what a waste of good cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I like the like this better than The Chantell cheesecake from this site. I have made tis several times and have learned that for the best results I need to be careful to not over mix. I mix everything by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
so far I am not too impresed with this recipe. I have made allot of cheese cakes and am always looking for a new one. I followed the recipe exactly as it said. When baking there was allot of fluid that leaked out. which I have never experienced. I made it for my mother inlaws birthday tonight. I am a little nervous about how it will taste. Will see if I need to change the rating later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful & easy to make cheesecake. I made this one for my hubby's meeting and they all loved it... The first bite they already knew that it was homemade because it was so creamy and rich. I put blueberry filling on top and decorated with my homemade whipped topping.... I will definitely make this again... Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
As I always do, I set the timer for five minutes less than the recipe stated, just to be on the safe side. That usually has been very helpful...but not this time. At 55 minutes my cheesecake was overdone. If I was to try this again (but more than likely I won't) I would either reduce the temperature to 325 degrees or shorten the baking time by 10-15 minutes, but even at that this would still be just a basic and average cheesecake. Also, for those who decide to try this recipe, I would suggest using three eggs, not four, and butter, not margarine, in the crust. I used the four eggs and didn't like that I could taste the "egginess."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was good, but seemed "curdily", I used a natural sour cream and due to timeline could not leave in oven long enough, sat for 30 minutes in oven but as soon as I took outside to cooler air it cracked. I will try again, but definately leave in oven until reaches room temperature then transfer to refrigerator and leave there for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I use this recipe as a base for all my cheesecakes. Everytime I am invited somewhere for any occasion, I am asked to please bring my cheesecake. I never knew it was so simple to make cheesecake and have it turn out so yummy!! this definitely is a 10 in my books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Great recipe! A hit with friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
AMAZING!!! I am a horrible cook but I trick everyone into believing that I am an awesome cook when I make this!! I've made it several times already. It's SOOOOO GOOD!! For the crust, I don't bother with the extra ingredients... I just stick with the graham crackers (it doesn't make a difference to me). I always get cracks in my cheesecake so I add a variety of fruit (blueberries, blackberries, kiwi, strawberries, grapes) and top it with strawberry glaze. It makes it look better (it tastes GREAT either way!) EXCELLENT! PLEASE TRY IT... YOU WON'T REGRET IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I am just not having any luck with this recipe. I follow the directions to a T and I get an over cooked, spongy, eggy disaster. The batter tastes fantastic, but I don't know how many attempts are justified because of the wasted ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie-Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States