Mom's Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
I love this casserole!!! This is one one my very favorite things to make. The cream cheese, the beef and tomato sauce, the cheese topping...it's all so yummy! To make preparation simpler, I just do one set of layers: beef, noodles, cream cheese, beef, cheddar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
I am an onion lover but this was too much...however, I didn't realize it until I tried a bite. Plus, it didn't seem that the meat/sauce mixture could cover the amount of noodles the recipe called for (maybe double the meat/sauce or reduce the noodles?) nor did it layer as nicely as I would have hoped. Not bad...but I'm not sure if I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
I thought this recipe was delicious, however I didn't follow it exactly. I started out by using ziti instead of egg noodles because it was all I had. I also omitted all of the onions (my boyfriend doesn't like them) and used chive cream cheese instead for flavor. I used an entire 26oz jar of tomato sauce, instead of the 8oz suggested, and still found it a little dry for my taste. Next time I might start the layers with the pasta instead of the meat and sauce to maybe make it easier to scoop out of the pan and I think some mozzarella cheese on top instead of cheddar would work well. Overall, I really liked this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
My husband LOVED it! We left out the green onions, since my pregnant hormones don't like them much, but the casserole didn't seem to be missing anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Very good made it for dinner and I was worried my eight year old would not like, but he did. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Made for a potluck, it barely got touched.Not enough sauce, even though I doubled it and cream mixture was too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
It was great. I do however agree that there wasn't enough sauce. I used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and it called for 8 oz. Next time I will use 2 15 oz, and mix the cream cheese/sour cream mixture into the casserole better. My kids loved it though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
The measurements for this recipe aren't even close to serving 11 people. There wasn't even enough of it to fit in a 9x13 pan. I put it in a square 8x8 pan. You'd need to use a 16 oz bag of egg noodles and double everything else except the onions. No way this fits into a 9x13 pan. I just stared at it in disbelief when I started assembling it. Also, it would be easier to mix the noodles with the sour cream/cream cheese mixture before assembling it. I found several of the noodles once baked were dry with no sauce on them. The taste is ok, it seems to be missing something though. May want to experiment with spices you know you like. I didn't add anything to it, made the recipe just like it appears and I was pretty disappointed. I *may* make it again, but will make some big changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This was pretty good. Although, I did not follow the recipe exactly. Instead of 12 ounces of pasta, I only used half of a 16 ounce bag. That was plenty! I didn't have any onions, so I used onion powder. I used 2 cloves of garlic from a jar already minced. I left the cream cheese and sour cream sit for a while and then I creamed them together in a mixer. Then I mixed it together with the pasta. then I layer the pasta mixture and meat mixture in a 8x8 pan. And since I love cheese, I used way more then 1 cup of cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Just food, not bad. It is better than serving a box recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States