Mom's Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This recipe is delicious as long as you double the sauce and add the cream cheese mixture to the noodles before layering. I used Johnsonville mild Italian sausages (casings removed) instead of beef which gave it a nice flavor and only used half an onion. This is not the shortest dinner, but it is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
The portions were way off. If I make it again I will quadruple the sauce. I had to add 5 oz. rotel and some diced tomatoes to it and it was still too dry. I also added a green pepper and heated it in the crockpot. I didn't layer it, I just mixed it all together, since other reviewers said they had trouble layering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is a family favorite, we keep this in frequent rotation. I always double the recipe and bake in a larger casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKHDTDEVO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was great, me and my sister made it last night for dinner. We dont usually measure so there was more sourcream than we auactually needed. This was still good, there did not look like there would be enough sauce after we added the 8 oz. so we just added some more untill it looked like there would be enough. There was still a need for more sauce after we were finnished. We did change a few things, we did not use a full onion, we used 3 green onions and we used garlic powder or salt... over all it was great, some of the people had 3rds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
good base recipe. seems bland as written (for my family at least). I don't measure so I just used whatever I had and adjusted it. I added lots of other spices, ommitted green onions, subbed plain yogurt for sour cream since that's all I had. Mixed that in with noodles, topped with meat sauce. I didn't have any cheddar either, so used parm. turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
My husband and I both loved this recipe. I accidentally added the shredded cheese to the cream cheese mixture and also added more on top and it was great. The only thing that I would do differently would be to double the meet and tomato sauce. There is not nearly enough mixture to make layers in a pan that size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Using some of the variations in other comments, this turned out to be one of the most delicious meals I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyzBebaH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
A really easy recipe to make! I changed a couple of portions on ingredients per a previous review. I used a 16 oz. bag of egg noodles, 1 1/2 pound of ground beef(drained), 1/2 vandelia onion divided, 29 oz. can of Hunts tomato sauce. I combined the noodles, sour cream, cream cheese, and onion together in a large bowl. The consistency was perfect! My whole family loved it! I think next time I will try spaghetti sauce and mozzarella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
AWSOME!!!! A KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was really scrumptious! After reading the reviews I took the advice of changing the amounts and used whole 16 oz bag of noodles, 12 oz sour cream and 8 oz cream cheese which I mixed in with the noodles first before layering, then used 1 1/2 lbs of meat. I also used 26 oz of sauce which I think really made the difference in it not being too dry. I like lots of garlic too and only used 1/2 white onion that I cooked first! Fit perfectly in 9x13 pan and the cheese didn't overflow! Delish and my 5 yr old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States