Mom's Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Wish I'd read the comments before I made this....too dry and too creamy. Definitely would cut down on the cream cheese and add tomato or spaghetti sauce. And too many noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina May Alexander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I made this last night and followed the reviews of others...used a 29oz. can of tomato sauce, ended up using almost a lb. of ground sirloin and 1.25lb of ground turkey (I had the sirloin already), about 12 oz. sour cream, and mixed the cheese mixture with the noodles before putting together the casserole. I thought it was a delicious, easy meal and we're freezing the rest (we have a baby coming any day!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I used 1 lb turkey Italian sausage, 1 lb ground beef, (1/3 fat) chive and onion cream cheese, and a 11.5 oz can of V8 instead of tomato sauce. Browned the onion and garlic with the meats, then added the v8, sour cream, and cream cheese. While that was simmering, I parboiled 4 cups of egg noodles for 3 minutes. Then I drained the noodles and immediately put them in with the meat mixture to soak up the juices while they finished cooking for 5 more minutes. Finally added the cup of shredded cheddar and did not bake it. It turned out scrumptious, much like a homemade hamburger helper. Under 400 calories for a one cup serving and it yielded exactly 8 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This was an incredible recipe. I would/will personally be lessening the amount of sour cream and cream cheese but aside from that it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Instead of all the onions I use a can of Rotel and it makes this recipe a little less bland. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I never liked sour cream I thought this would be different but I could taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
So delicious and so addicting!!!!! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xamyx13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This just wasn't good. It was all noodles with no filling. The filling that was there didn't taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDILASSITER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I really enjoyed this. However, I think 6-8 ounces of noodles is definitely enough. I used chopped up onions and mixed it in with turkey meat and used almost a whole jar of sauce along with garlic powder. I put some noodles on the bottom then the meat mixture then the sour cream and cream cheese in the middle then more noodles and meat..and layered the top with cheddar cheese. (I made it healthier with low fat cheddar cheese cream cheese and sour cream)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This was ok. The measurements are definately off. I added an extra can of tomato sauce, but it was still a little too dry. I think less noodles would help this recipe. There also wasn't enough ground beef- the noodles took over the recipe as did the sour cream mixture. I also added extra garlic, and salt and pepper. But it still needed something. It was very easy to put together though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States