Mom's Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was really scrumptious! After reading the reviews I took the advice of changing the amounts and used whole 16 oz bag of noodles, 12 oz sour cream and 8 oz cream cheese which I mixed in with the noodles first before layering, then used 1 1/2 lbs of meat. I also used 26 oz of sauce which I think really made the difference in it not being too dry. I like lots of garlic too and only used 1/2 white onion that I cooked first! Fit perfectly in 9x13 pan and the cheese didn't overflow! Delish and my 5 yr old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
I am an onion lover but this was too much...however, I didn't realize it until I tried a bite. Plus, it didn't seem that the meat/sauce mixture could cover the amount of noodles the recipe called for (maybe double the meat/sauce or reduce the noodles?) nor did it layer as nicely as I would have hoped. Not bad...but I'm not sure if I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
The measurements for this recipe aren't even close to serving 11 people. There wasn't even enough of it to fit in a 9x13 pan. I put it in a square 8x8 pan. You'd need to use a 16 oz bag of egg noodles and double everything else except the onions. No way this fits into a 9x13 pan. I just stared at it in disbelief when I started assembling it. Also, it would be easier to mix the noodles with the sour cream/cream cheese mixture before assembling it. I found several of the noodles once baked were dry with no sauce on them. The taste is ok, it seems to be missing something though. May want to experiment with spices you know you like. I didn't add anything to it, made the recipe just like it appears and I was pretty disappointed. I *may* make it again, but will make some big changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Made for a potluck, it barely got touched.Not enough sauce, even though I doubled it and cream mixture was too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is a family favorite, we keep this in frequent rotation. I always double the recipe and bake in a larger casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKHDTDEVO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
My husband and I both loved this recipe. I accidentally added the shredded cheese to the cream cheese mixture and also added more on top and it was great. The only thing that I would do differently would be to double the meet and tomato sauce. There is not nearly enough mixture to make layers in a pan that size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
We both loved this. I made it as directed with the following changes - used 1/2 cup sour cream, left out the green onions, added about 1/2 cup canned corn and reduced the noodles to about 8 oz. Seriously yummy stuff and it fit just perfect in my 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This was pretty good. Although, I did not follow the recipe exactly. Instead of 12 ounces of pasta, I only used half of a 16 ounce bag. That was plenty! I didn't have any onions, so I used onion powder. I used 2 cloves of garlic from a jar already minced. I left the cream cheese and sour cream sit for a while and then I creamed them together in a mixer. Then I mixed it together with the pasta. then I layer the pasta mixture and meat mixture in a 8x8 pan. And since I love cheese, I used way more then 1 cup of cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
It was great. I do however agree that there wasn't enough sauce. I used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and it called for 8 oz. Next time I will use 2 15 oz, and mix the cream cheese/sour cream mixture into the casserole better. My kids loved it though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This recipe didn't taste great, but I'll try it again so I can figure out any mistakes that I made on it. Thank you very much for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States