Mom's Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This casserole is DELICIOUS! I did not have green onions so I used oregano, parsley and basil. The kids were not crazy about the texture with the noodles, so next time I will use couscous, rice or maybe even roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbales143

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
We both loved this. I made it as directed with the following changes - used 1/2 cup sour cream, left out the green onions, added about 1/2 cup canned corn and reduced the noodles to about 8 oz. Seriously yummy stuff and it fit just perfect in my 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Just food, not bad. It is better than serving a box recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This was pretty good. Although, I did not follow the recipe exactly. Instead of 12 ounces of pasta, I only used half of a 16 ounce bag. That was plenty! I didn't have any onions, so I used onion powder. I used 2 cloves of garlic from a jar already minced. I left the cream cheese and sour cream sit for a while and then I creamed them together in a mixer. Then I mixed it together with the pasta. then I layer the pasta mixture and meat mixture in a 8x8 pan. And since I love cheese, I used way more then 1 cup of cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
The measurements for this recipe aren't even close to serving 11 people. There wasn't even enough of it to fit in a 9x13 pan. I put it in a square 8x8 pan. You'd need to use a 16 oz bag of egg noodles and double everything else except the onions. No way this fits into a 9x13 pan. I just stared at it in disbelief when I started assembling it. Also, it would be easier to mix the noodles with the sour cream/cream cheese mixture before assembling it. I found several of the noodles once baked were dry with no sauce on them. The taste is ok, it seems to be missing something though. May want to experiment with spices you know you like. I didn't add anything to it, made the recipe just like it appears and I was pretty disappointed. I *may* make it again, but will make some big changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
It was great. I do however agree that there wasn't enough sauce. I used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and it called for 8 oz. Next time I will use 2 15 oz, and mix the cream cheese/sour cream mixture into the casserole better. My kids loved it though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Made for a potluck, it barely got touched.Not enough sauce, even though I doubled it and cream mixture was too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Very good made it for dinner and I was worried my eight year old would not like, but he did. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
My husband LOVED it! We left out the green onions, since my pregnant hormones don't like them much, but the casserole didn't seem to be missing anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
I thought this recipe was delicious, however I didn't follow it exactly. I started out by using ziti instead of egg noodles because it was all I had. I also omitted all of the onions (my boyfriend doesn't like them) and used chive cream cheese instead for flavor. I used an entire 26oz jar of tomato sauce, instead of the 8oz suggested, and still found it a little dry for my taste. Next time I might start the layers with the pasta instead of the meat and sauce to maybe make it easier to scoop out of the pan and I think some mozzarella cheese on top instead of cheddar would work well. Overall, I really liked this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States