Mom's Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Using this recipe as is, a 9x13 pan is too big; not enough meat for the amount of noodles. I think 2 lbs of hamburger is needed. This recipe is ok, but I don't think I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessaca
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I changed a few things with this recipe. I used Johnsonville Italian sausage instead of ground beef. I also used 2 8 oz cans of tomato sauce. I also added 1 tbl spoon of Italian seasoning. It is yummy!!! I will def make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Wish I'd read the comments before I made this....too dry and too creamy. Definitely would cut down on the cream cheese and add tomato or spaghetti sauce. And too many noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina May Alexander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I made this last night and followed the reviews of others...used a 29oz. can of tomato sauce, ended up using almost a lb. of ground sirloin and 1.25lb of ground turkey (I had the sirloin already), about 12 oz. sour cream, and mixed the cheese mixture with the noodles before putting together the casserole. I thought it was a delicious, easy meal and we're freezing the rest (we have a baby coming any day!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I used 1 lb turkey Italian sausage, 1 lb ground beef, (1/3 fat) chive and onion cream cheese, and a 11.5 oz can of V8 instead of tomato sauce. Browned the onion and garlic with the meats, then added the v8, sour cream, and cream cheese. While that was simmering, I parboiled 4 cups of egg noodles for 3 minutes. Then I drained the noodles and immediately put them in with the meat mixture to soak up the juices while they finished cooking for 5 more minutes. Finally added the cup of shredded cheddar and did not bake it. It turned out scrumptious, much like a homemade hamburger helper. Under 400 calories for a one cup serving and it yielded exactly 8 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This was an incredible recipe. I would/will personally be lessening the amount of sour cream and cream cheese but aside from that it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Instead of all the onions I use a can of Rotel and it makes this recipe a little less bland. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I never liked sour cream I thought this would be different but I could taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
So delicious and so addicting!!!!! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xamyx13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This just wasn't good. It was all noodles with no filling. The filling that was there didn't taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDILASSITER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States