Mom's Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was supposed to be my husband's birthday cake. He had to work on his birthday, the day before Easter. So I made this for both Easter and his birthday. Since it was indicated that it is better the day after it is made I made it on his birthday and saved it to eat after our Easter dinner. Good thing I didn't have company! It didn't cook all the way through and I tested it in 5 places with a toothpick! Going back to my old recipes where you use raw carrots. I should've been clued in when I took it out of the oven it looked perfect and when I turned away for a few minutes it fell, about 3/4", so I had to use extra frosting to fill in the well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by singingcrys
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made this last night as cupcakes. The recipe makes about 4 dozen cupcakes (plus a dozen mini cupcakes). I omitted the coconut and used my own cream cheese frosting recipe. They came out of the oven so light and fluffy. The texture was moist and light. These really are better after a night of refrigeration though. Thanks for the recipe! Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I am a huge fan of this recipe! I've made it several times for different audiences and it's always been a hit. It's my favorite carrot cake recipe and it's quickly becoming a family favorite, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I bake a Carrot Cake every year for my sister-in-law. I used this one last year and she absolutely loved it. I was very moist and with the Cream Cheese frosting it was perfect. She only left us 2 slices and took the reast home with her. Lyn Wigginton
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dansville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
wow this was the best carrot cake ever! Turned out so moist and flavorful, I wouldn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
My first carrot cake.....turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I also thought this was to oily. But the guys liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is the best carrot cake I have ever made. I've even had two marriage proposals! Never had so many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Haven't cooked it yet because the picture shows a layer cake, the baking instructions show a sheet cake. Which is it? I prefer the layer cake but I would have to double the frosting I think???? The recipe sounds delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I never made carrot cake from scratch before and did this. Everyone LOVED it! The cake was so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States