Mom's Candied Yams with Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
SOOO good! Luckily I had extra potatoes in the cabinet because one can did NOT cut it, so I tripled he recipe and everything in it except the pineapple because I only had two cans. I figured it couldn't hurt to cut back on the pineapple because there's a LOT of sweet going on in this recipe and I was right. It turned out PERFECT. Don't be scared ... for whatever reason this was not too sweet ... it was JUST PERFECT and it will be my go-to recipe for now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I love trying new recipes! This was wonderful. I used whole sweet potatoes, peeled, boiled and mashed them, and added all other ingredients. This was perfect! I went right by the recipe but made one adjustment that my husband just loves on his sweet potato casseroles. I added a pecan topping in with the marshmallows. My husband tells me all the time that I am a wonderful cook. Last night, he told me that I normally make a delicious sweet potato casserole, but this one topped it all!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing your creation. It was GREAT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Not so sure about this one. Maybe the fact that I used fresh yams, cut them into chunks and parboiled rather than mashing them was the deal breaker but there was something missing from the flavor. I did everything else the same except I doubled the the recipe. Just not sure what happened but I'll stick to my original yam casserole. All the posters loved this so maybe it was just us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Will make this part of all holiday meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was amazing! I honestly think this is the best yams I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was AMAZING!! I made it for the company Thanksgiving Lunch and everybody loved it! Even my husband who hates anything yam/sweet potatoes likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla Morley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Made this last year and it was the first dish to run out. It was so good we doubled the recipe this year to serve just five people. We had only a tiny bit left over and my husband's uncle finished it off for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Delicious My husband loved it his co-workers and friend and also my co-workers loved it. It was my first time making it and I thought it would be weird to mix pineapples and caramel with sweet potatoes but it turned out outstanding I will most definitely make this again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Deliciosisimo.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I wanted to do something different with the same ol' candy yams so i tried this recipe and it was wonderful!! Normally i have a lot left over but not this time!! Every bit was gone!! I will continue to make this every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States