Mom's Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I had to add an extra 3 CUPS of flour!!! If I didn't the batter was water. The taste was good and so was the texture. And by the amount of pancakes this recipe made it looks like we will be eating pancakes all weekend long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
WAY, WAY too salty. I wish I would have read sunfluer's review before I made my pancakes. I'm sure it would have been a wonderful recipe with reduced salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Ripon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
easy to make. Wonderfully light and fluffy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Next time I make this I think I'll drop the salt content a little bit. They weren't too salty but if you use a lot of salty butter they might be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
After reading the reviews I decided to try these. I used only 1/4 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of baking soda. They were great! Fluffy and good but the recipe calls for a little too much fat for my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
These pancakes turned out very salty. In the future I would substitute the salt for some sugar. I did add about 1 tbsp of vanilla, which helped it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is great! I omit the salt because I find baking soda to add plenty of salt for me, and I tend to add about two teaspoons of white sugar to my batter to get these to brown up beautifully. Just my preference! Also, these work really well subbing out buttermilk (vingar + milk, lemon juice + milk, plain yogurt thinned with milk or water, etc) if you don't happen to have any buttermilk on hand. I still recommend trying the buttermilk in this recipe though; it's unbeatable! Great recipe. (TIP: melt your butter in your preheating pancake pan; any butter residue leftover just saves you the step of greasing the pan! Also, don't re-grease after the first pancake. The butter in the batter will keep it from sticking, and if you add a bit of sugar these will come out pretty and golden like restaurant style flapjacks!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Excellent texture and taste. Put blueberries in each one in the skillet. Will use often. Thanks for sharing Grandma's recipe. She knew her pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These pancakes are thick and fluffy and absolutely delicious. I always use salted butter so i'm careful to only use about third of what the recipe calls for in salt, otherwise they can easily become to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is our go to pancake recipe, it's perfect, except I add a tsp. of vanilla because we really like vanilla. Recently I didn't have buttermilk and they turned out very flat like shoe leather, maybe my soda was old or maybe I over mixed, they usually never come out this way...always light and fluffy. The salt content seems to be fine for us also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Noelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States