Mom's Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Just made these this morning and they were excellent. The batter is very simple to make and the pancakes were very fluffy. Usually I only put butter on pancakes and omit the syrup because the cakes themselves are too sweet, but since this recipe doesn't call for any sugar I was actually able to use some maple syrup.. Delicious! Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginelle Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I used only 1/4 teaspoon of salt since many others said the recipe called for too much salt. Overall, the pancakes were ok. The texture was fine, but they didn't have much flavor. I will look for other pancake recipes to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Based on past reviews of this recipe, I decided to tweak it on my first attempt. I doubled the recipe, and to that I added 3 tsp. sugar to the dry ingredients, and 2 tsp. vanilla to the wet ingredients. For someone who has been in search of a great pancake recipe, and who has tried various versions over the years, these were, by far, the best pancakes ever! I gave it a 4 because I had to change it a bit, but it ended up as a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almason78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Ok. According to my nephew, "It does stick to the roof if my mouth. It might be the syrup though."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caleb Roth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Very fluffy, very tasty pancakes made right from the recipe with no modifications at all. My go to pancake recipe from now on, as long as I have some buttermilk on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairmount, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
These pancakes are nice & fluffy, but i would definetly use 1/2 tsp, not 1 tsp like the recipe calls for. Way way to salty for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
great recipe light and fluffy. halved the salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
No one in my family liked these pancakes, even after drowning them in syrup. We did not like the flavor, which I suspect is due to the relatively high amount of salt and the lack of sugar to balance out the buttermilk. Initially, the only change I made was to reduce the salt by half because the salt content seemed high and I was using salted butter. After tasting the first few pancakes, I added sugar and vanilla to the batter, which improved the taste some but still wasn't something that I would make again. On a positive note, the texture was fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I used all organic ingredients, and fresh laid eggs. These were the BEST pancakes ever. My husband does not usually like pancakes, but he ate these and said don't loose that recipe! I doubled the recipe, except for the salt. Perfectly fluffy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 562) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States