Mom's Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
We love this buttermilk recipe. I just hate paying for pancakes at a restaurant these days. It's so easy to make quality, "tastey," pancakes at home. I've made this for visiting family members as well as our friends daughter and every one of them loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPMsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Flat... not fluffy at all. made 100% as written. Still looking for a good fluffy pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I will never use this recipe again. They burn entirely too easily and I followed the recipe to a dime. I added 1/4 teaspoon of salt, but even through i tried spraying my pan and even oiling it, the stuck very bad and burnt very easily. I have never had that happen with pancakes before. The pancakes burned before they were even cooked thoroughly. They also needed sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I chose to make these because they were highly rated, required few ingredients, and also called only for buttermilk and not normal milk like most of the other recipes do. I only had buttermilk in my fridge leftover from something else, and although I could probably just have substituted buttermilk in those other recipes anyway, I have actually never made pancakes before so I wanted to do it 'by the book.' Well, these were pretty good but they were even better when I folded frozen blueberries into the batter. Topped with organic maple syrup and fresh blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Some of the BEST pancakes I've ever had in my life!!! Follow the recipe *exactly* - YES, the batter will look WEIRD, but it's supposed to! The only trouble I had was spreading the batter on the pan. I recommend using the spatula to do that as soon as the batter hits the grittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing a Buttermilk Pancake recipe that is exactly like my Grandma's. My ten+ years of searching is finally over. TIP: Make more than you need. When the pancakes are cool, toss them in the fridge or freezer. Hungry? Throw a couple in the toaster. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Ballard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Definitely too much salt. Other than that a great pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Good, but way too salty! These were light and fluffy, but I am going to try halving the salt in this recipe next time, as everyone that ate these thought the salt was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vina Platania
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Amazing! I added a little vanilla and a tablespoon of sugar and they were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vina Platania

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I didn't have baking soda so I used baking powder is this the reason they tasted so bad ? :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 576) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States