Mom's Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
The first time I made these I followed the directions exactly and they were OUTSTANDING; light and fluffy as air. The second time I made them I did not have any buttermilk in house so I made some buttermilk using milk and vinegar. The second batch was good but nowhere near as good, or as light and fluffy as the first batch I made with the real buttermilk. I don't know why they weren't as fluffy but if I have any recommendations to make I would tell you to use the real buttermilk for the best results! Added fresh blueberries to the buttermilk batter and they were delicious that way as well! This is so very simple to mix together, that I will never use the packaged pancake mixes again. When I double this I double all the ingredients except for the salt. I just love making things from scratch for my family whenever I can and this is just as simple as a boxed mix, but much, much better!!!!! Update! I added a teaspoon of Vanilla Extract to the batter - took this recipe OVER THE TOP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These were the BEST buttermilk pancakes! They were super easy to make. If you have 3 or more people, I would double the recipe. Yummy, yummy, yummy!!! Also, I didn't change ANYTHING, but I would say it is always preferable to use Buttermilk if possible - and there's nothing like hot maple syrup on top :) Thank you for sharing this recipe, it couldn't have been easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NO KIDDING?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
First time I ever made pancakes from scratch & these were so wonderful & EZ to make. The directions were well written in describing the batter since it didn't look like any other pancake batter I'd ever gotten out of a box. The end result was fantastic. Light & delicious & just as described in the picture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I tried this recipe as written and should have known better about the amount of salt it calls for. A 1/4 Teaspn per cup of flour is enough. I also think I would cut the baking soda next time to 1/2 teaspn per cup of flour as well. There's sodium in baking soda. With the recipe written as it is, I have to give it one star due to the high sodium content. The recipe as written with the amount of salt plus baking soda makes the pancakes taste like brine. I couldn't eat it. I don't mean to be harsh but if anyone tries the recipe as written they will see what I mean. Next time I will make the adjustments and think it will turn out excellent pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunfluer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfectly, so fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Yay! Homemade, easy to make pancakes and as someone else mentioned they do taste like Cracker Barrel pancakes! No more Bisquick mix for me. :) The batter was very thick for me, so I added a little more buttermilk to make it a little easier to spread, but I think its because my flour was packed down pretty hard, so there was probably more than 1 cup in there. My son loves them - he devoured three and had one without syrup just because he liked the taste so much. He's already scheming about having the 1 leftover pancake for dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
No need to ever buy the boxed stuff again after trying this! Wouldn't change a thing - perfect as is. Very fluffy pancakes. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Wow, these were amazing. Everyone loved them, even the kids. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfectly. I made them again with Robin Hood Nutriblend flour to make these a little healthier and they still turned out wonderfully! Very fluffy and super easy to make :) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda0989

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Perfect as written. My family's favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Awsome pancakes definitely one to make over and over again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States