Mom's Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
way good! A bit salty. I would double this, made only 5 pancakes for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
4 stars only because of salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I agree with the most critical review that it doesn't need a teaspoon of salt. A quarter teaspoon is plenty. These are fantastic though. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I make these for my son, but I veganize easily with Earth Balance, energy egg replacer and I take unsweetened soy milk and add 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar and let sit while I do everything else to replace the buttermilk, I also add some chocolate chips and they come out perfect! You can freeze and reheat for more easy breakfasts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
These were really good.Just like the pancakes my Grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
i have made this three times in the last month and they are so good, they dont even need butter on top. I have also used frozen buttermilk and it still worked great! (buttermilk is hard for me to use up the whole carton before it goes bad so i measure out and put in tupperware in the freezer. It has a slightly separated consistency but always tastes great in recipes). Thanks for posting this recipe! It is a staple at our house now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Made this morning for my 3rd old birthday boy (and his brothers). They were delicious, but it was rather difficult to tell exactly how the pancakes stacked up by themselves. I used a cinnamon roll recipe and swirled the pancakes. I FOLLOWED OTHERS ADVICE AND CUT THE SALT DOWN TO 1/4tsp. I ALSO ADDED 1 TBS of sugar. (per single recipe). I did double the batch and ONLY USED 2 C OF MILK (milk/ vinegar for buttermilk substitute). They seemed to be a good consistency at that point. They were very fluffy yet very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Super easy, great fluffy texture- just way too much salt as it is posted now (1 tsp). Next time I'll reduce it by half. I also accidentally used baking powder in place of backing soda- but that had no real effect on the final outcome though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Pancake perfection! Ridiculously easy, with ingredients I always have on hand. I decreased the salt by half, as it seemed like too much, and I might suggest lightly beating the egg before adding it to the mixture, but otherwise perfecly easy and straight-forward recipe! I subbed half white whole wheat flour with no issue (read: my boyfriend didn't even notice). Also, for fun, I added diced banana to a few of the pancakes. I WILL make this as a go-to pancake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Easy and Delicious! When I read the recipe, 1 tsp salt sounded a little too much salt to me, so I went with my gut feeling and only added 1/2 tsp salt. I think it was perfect that way, I didn't want it to be any saltier. Second time I tried it, I added 1 tbsp sugar and 1/2 tsp salt. This version came out great too. Both times I used real buttermilk. If you have any doubts about adding a whole teaspoon of salt, my suggestion is to try making it with 1/2 tsp salt first, and then see if you want it any saltier. This is going to be my go-to recipe for pancakes from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laneko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States